HWID change

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

HWID change

Postby Martazz » 15. Jun 2019, 15:06

Hello,
I know that virtualbox has it's own fake HWID. Is it possible to change it? Thanks for your advices.
Martazz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15. Jun 2019, 15:04

Re: HWID change

Postby mpack » 15. Jun 2019, 17:37

A VM has many hardware IDs. Basically one for every bit of hardware present.

Yes, they can be changed within reason, but to what end? Most hardware IDs can't be changed arbitrarily, since all you'd do is stop the drivers working.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30014
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: HWID change

Postby Martazz » 16. Jun 2019, 11:36

I need it because of software, which is trial-time limited to HWID of computer. So it isn't so easy to change it?
Martazz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15. Jun 2019, 15:04

Re: HWID change

Postby mpack » 16. Jun 2019, 14:07

Any modern trial based software which can't detect that it's running in a VM (regardless of HWIDs) doesn't deserve to exist. Believe me, you won't be the first person to try to turn their trial into a free permanent license.

But in direct answer to your question: in practice no, you can't make a VM match the hardware signature of a existing physical PC. The trial would have had to be installed into a VirtualBox VM in the first place, and even then the host CPU is visible to a VM.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30014
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests