[WorksForMe] Port blocked in Host Only-Network

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

[WorksForMe] Port blocked in Host Only-Network

Postby DRaetze » 27. May 2019, 16:00

Hello together,

my first Topic here. I tried to use the search, but i didnt found anything that helps. Maybe im just blind.

I created 3 VMs to test a MongoDB Cluster with centos 7. All of them are in the same Host Only Network. When I try to connect to the other VMs from my primary I got "No route to Host" (MongoDB is using Port 27017). The connection via ssh is working between the VMs. Is there anything in the Network-Konfiguration i can do about it.

Bridged-Network is no solution for me, because I cannot be sure, that the VMs got the same IP everytime. The Servers does not need Internet-Access too.

Thanks all.

Regards
Dean
Last edited by socratis on 28. May 2019, 11:03, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked as [WorksForMe].
DRaetze
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 27. May 2019, 15:54

Re: Port blocked in Host Only-Network

Postby Martin » 27. May 2019, 18:49

VirtualBox doesn't do any firewalling or port filtering in a host-only network.
There must be something blocking or not listening inside your VMs.
Martin
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2219
Joined: 30. May 2007, 18:05
Primary OS: Fedora other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP, Win7, Linux, OS/2

Re: Port blocked in Host Only-Network

Postby scottgus1 » 27. May 2019, 23:41

DRaetze wrote:The connection via ssh is working between the VMs

With this being true, the Virtualbox network is working. As Martin says, look within the guest OS's to find what's blocking normal communication.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Port blocked in Host Only-Network

Postby DRaetze » 28. May 2019, 10:59

Hey guys,

thanks for the replies.

It was the Firewall on the VMs who was the problem.


Regards
Dean
DRaetze
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 27. May 2019, 15:54

Re: Port blocked in Host Only-Network

Postby socratis » 28. May 2019, 11:03

Glad you got it going. Marking as [WorksForMe].
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25224
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests