Change resolution of VirtualBox Manager?

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Change resolution of VirtualBox Manager?

Postby KilpAr » 30. Apr 2019, 11:00

Can I some how change the resolution of VirtualBox Manager? And yes, I mean the manager itself, not the machines it controls. See example picture to compare to Notepad++.
Attachments
vmres.PNG
vmres.PNG (17.81 KiB) Viewed 251 times
KilpAr
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30. Apr 2019, 10:57

Re: Change resolution of VirtualBox Manager?

Postby andyp73 » 30. Apr 2019, 11:24

Have you got some other Qt based application installed on your host that is affecting the settings?

Here is the corresponding view of my Windows 10 host running VirtualBox 6.0.6:

Annotation 2019-04-30 101822.png
Annotation 2019-04-30 101822.png (13.43 KiB) Viewed 248 times

-Andy.
My crystal ball is currently broken. If you want assistance you are going to have to give me all of the necessary information.
Please don't ask me to do your homework for you, I have more than enough of my own things to do.
andyp73
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: 25. May 2010, 23:48
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Assorted Linux, Windows Server 2012, DOS, Windows 10, BIOS/UEFI emulation

Re: Change resolution of VirtualBox Manager?

Postby KilpAr » 30. Apr 2019, 11:51

I think the problem might be that the VirtualBox doesn't know how to scale the window size. My main screen is my laptop screen which is quite a bit smaller than my secondary screen. On laptop screen it looks fine. Other programs (like Notepad++) knows how to scale when moved from one window to another.
KilpAr
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30. Apr 2019, 10:57

Re: Change resolution of VirtualBox Manager?

Postby socratis » 30. Apr 2019, 16:02

Are we talking a HiDPI versus a non-HiDPI second screen?
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25313
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Change resolution of VirtualBox Manager?

Postby KilpAr » 2. May 2019, 10:19

socratis wrote:Are we talking a HiDPI versus a non-HiDPI second screen?


How do I recognize which ones they are? Here's some info:
Attachments
screens.PNG
screens.PNG (75.63 KiB) Viewed 204 times
KilpAr
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30. Apr 2019, 10:57


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests