[Solved] cannot save settings

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

[Solved] cannot save settings

Postby peblacky » 31. Jan 2019, 09:42

i installed virtual box and created an windows 7 machine.
al perfect so long.

as i tried to change some settings in this machine i have the problem the "OK" buttun to save this setting is deactivated (see screenshot)
my machine is NOT runnung and so i dont know how save settings?
please give me a hint!
Attachments
2019-01-31 settings.jpg
2019-01-31 settings.jpg (102.03 KiB) Viewed 815 times
Last edited by socratis on 14. Feb 2019, 19:16, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked as [Solved].
peblacky
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 31. Jan 2019, 09:37

Re: cannot save settings

Postby andyp73 » 31. Jan 2019, 09:44

The icon with the exclamation mark (!) to the left of the OK button is reporting that there is an invalid setting in the guest configuration. Hover the mouse over the icon and it will tell you the setting that needs to be corrected. Once resolved you will be able to save it.

-Andy.
My crystal ball is currently broken. If you want assistance you are going to have to give me all of the necessary information.
Please don't ask me to do your homework for you, I have more than enough of my own things to do.
andyp73
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1642
Joined: 25. May 2010, 23:48
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Assorted Linux, Windows Server 2012, DOS, Windows 10, BIOS/UEFI emulation

Re: cannot save settings

Postby peblacky » 31. Jan 2019, 11:07

Thanks for this hint!
especialy the clickbox "VT-x..." (see Screenshot) was to deactivate!
then it worked!
Attachments
2019-01-31 system.jpg
2019-01-31 system.jpg (28.14 KiB) Viewed 808 times
peblacky
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 31. Jan 2019, 09:37

Re: cannot save settings

Postby mpack » 31. Jan 2019, 11:25

VirtualBox is destined to become increasingly reliant (and unusable without) VT-x / AMD-v. If you posted a VM log we could tell if this feature is potentially available to you. The answer would be yes for the vast majority of PCs sold in the last 10 years, especially those running the Win7-64bit host OS.

With the VM fully shut down, right click it in the GUI. Select "Show Log" and save "VBox.log" (no other file) to a zip file. Attach the zip here.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29846
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: cannot save settings

Postby peblacky » 7. Feb 2019, 15:12

Here my Logfile as requested ;-)
Whats to do now ?
Attachments
Peter_Log.zip
(24.4 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
peblacky
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 31. Jan 2019, 09:37

Re: cannot save settings

Postby andyp73 » 7. Feb 2019, 15:18

VBox.log wrote:
00:00:02.655877 CPUM: No hardware-virtualization capability detected

You need to have a look enable this in the motherboard / PC / laptop BIOS. Your Intel i5-2400 CPU supports it. See your PC's manufacturer help on how to do this. Also, make sure that nothing else has an exclusive hold on the VT-x.

VBox.log wrote:
00:00:02.573538 File system of 'L:\Virtual Box\Win7\Snapshots' (snapshots) is ntfs
00:00:02.573545 File system of 'L:\Virtual Box\Win7\Snapshots/{b0bea0c2-5c61-4c90-b82d-b6ce8f496cdc}.vdi' is ntfs

What kind of disk is the hosts drive L:? Is it an internal drive / partition or is it an external drive?

-Andy.
My crystal ball is currently broken. If you want assistance you are going to have to give me all of the necessary information.
Please don't ask me to do your homework for you, I have more than enough of my own things to do.
andyp73
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1642
Joined: 25. May 2010, 23:48
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Assorted Linux, Windows Server 2012, DOS, Windows 10, BIOS/UEFI emulation

Re: cannot save settings

Postby peblacky » 7. Feb 2019, 15:24

Thanks for this hint!
I'll see if may motherboard manufacturer ASUS has some infos to this!

thel L:\ Drive is an internal SATA6 Harddisk on the system. i hope this works?
peblacky
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 31. Jan 2019, 09:37

Re: cannot save settings

Postby andyp73 » 7. Feb 2019, 15:31

peblacky wrote:thel L:\ Drive is an internal SATA6 Harddisk on the system. i hope this works?

That should work just fine. Snapshots can be a bit fragile without the added complication of being on an external USB drive which is typically where we see drive letters that high being used!

-Andy.
My crystal ball is currently broken. If you want assistance you are going to have to give me all of the necessary information.
Please don't ask me to do your homework for you, I have more than enough of my own things to do.
andyp73
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1642
Joined: 25. May 2010, 23:48
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Assorted Linux, Windows Server 2012, DOS, Windows 10, BIOS/UEFI emulation

Re: cannot save settings

Postby peblacky » 13. Feb 2019, 17:57

Thanks for the hint, i found the setting in the Bios!
Now i selected "hyper V" i hope this is best selection for an windows pc emulated ...
peblacky
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 31. Jan 2019, 09:37

Re: cannot save settings

Postby mpack » 13. Feb 2019, 18:53

No, the setting to look for is the "Enable VT-x/AMD-v" checkbox in the VM settings: System | Acceleration. I.e. the box that you highlighted in your screenshot above. Enable it.

Leave "Paravirtualization Interface" set to Default. This has to do with providing an API to the guest OS (i.e. like setting the user agent string in an Internet browser), not with how VirtualBox runs your VM.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29846
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: cannot save settings

Postby peblacky » 14. Feb 2019, 14:42

Thanks again, runs very good!
Now i have to order some memory für my PC ;-)
peblacky
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 31. Jan 2019, 09:37

Re: cannot save settings

Postby socratis » 14. Feb 2019, 19:16

peblacky wrote:Thanks again, runs very good!

Marking as [Solved] then.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 26128
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests