error loading operating system

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
Jmh474

error loading operating system

Post by Jmh474 »

First off I would like to say hello to everyone, first post.

So my problem is that a friend of mine uses vmware and created a xp system, and exported it for me to use on vb but when I come to run the system I get the following error msg on but up "error loading operating system".

I'm a little new to all the virtual systems so a little advice would be great.

The system is windows xp - sp3 I think - Iv not changed anything as yet.
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: error loading operating system

Post by socratis »

Jmh474 wrote:First off I would like to say hello to everyone, first post.
Welcome!
Jmh474 wrote:uses vmware and created a xp system, and exported it for me
That depends on how they exported it, what format, ... We can't know the details of the transaction. If you can put the OVA/OVF file somewhere private and send me the link via PM, I could try and see what might be going on. But remember, there are two parts that have to be correct for the whole experiment to work: 1) export, 2) import.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Jmh474

Post by Jmh474 »

Sorry I didn't think my friend would appreciate me sharing the system and it has sensitive and personal files as it's a work system, is there anything I should look into to help me with this process.
socratis
Site Moderator

Post by socratis »

Not with the amount of information given. Sorry...
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.