Remove Data Only

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Remove Data Only

Postby chikitin » 20. Apr 2018, 18:17

Hi,


I will be attending an intense program where we will be using corporate computers. During the cohort, we will be installing many software and generate many codes and data. After the cohort is over, we will turn in our laptops. I was thinking of using a Virtual Box ( Mac/Linux guest) and the day before cohort is over, delete all the Data and keep all the settings ( All open source software, etc.) I was wondering if there is a factory setting so that only from OS with its added settings are kept?

Thank you in advance,

CS
chikitin
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 20. Apr 2018, 18:12

Re: Remove Data Only

Postby socratis » 20. Apr 2018, 18:55

Deleting the whole Virtual OS is a VirtualBox functionality. Everything is gone.
Deleting selective parts of a virtual OS, is an OS functionality. VirtualBox has no idea what's in that OS.
If you selectively want to delete data from the virtual OS, that is not a VirtualBox question I'm afraid.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 19292
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests