Using Cloning to Merge Snapshots

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
jnl2
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: MS Windows 7 64bit

Using Cloning to Merge Snapshots

Post by jnl2 »

I'm a relative newb to managing VBox especially in terms of utilizing snapshots over time.

I have a VBox VM environment where over 15 snapshots have been taken over time, some while the client was running, most while the client was off.

My goal, to back up a few states of the VM for obvious record keeping purposes and to off-load these copies to save disk space.

The end result desired is two fold:

1. A few early states/versions of the client backed up and off-load. (The formal documentation seem clear that this could be achieved by rolling back the VM to earlier states to achieve this goal.)

2. One current consolidated state running on the client.

An article found on the SuperUsers blog site describes an intriguing approach that I might be able to utilize toward my ends. (giving credit to that author, their suggestion can be found here):
https://superuser.com/questions/590968/ ... wer-684128
Here's a technique (tested on VirtualBox 4.3.4) that uses the 'Clone' command to merge and compact all the snapshots to a new VM containing a single VDI file:

Rename the VM so you can reuse its current name for cloned VM (you can change the VM name from the 'Basic' tab of the 'General' settings).

Right-click on the VM and run the 'Clone...' command:
Set the name to the VM's original name.
Accept the remaining defaults i.e. Clone type: 'Full clone'; Snapshots: 'Current machine state'.

Delete the old VM (right-click on the VM and run the 'Remove...' command).
In order to validate this approach, does our community support the notion to use cloning to merge snapshots in order for me to achieve my ultimate goals?

Thanks very much for your help.
Host: Windows 7 64bit w/ Win updates. VBox Guest Extension and Additions included.