Fixed size or Dynamic?

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Fixed size or Dynamic?

Postby mail.gmail.com » 30. Nov 2017, 10:47

I want to see what happens when I run my own created virus on windows 10. Shall I choose Dynamically allotted or Fixed size so as to not affect anything on my original computer. I tried to search their meaning, but I'm not sure what they mean, and I don't want to screw up my computer. Using Windows 10 and Windows 10. (On both VM and System)

Thanks.
mail.gmail.com
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 30. Nov 2017, 10:36

Re: Fixed size or Dynamic?

Postby socratis » 30. Nov 2017, 11:01

I deleted your other post from the "Windows Guests" forum. Keep in mind that according to the forum rules, duplicate posts are not allowed. It's not good etiquette...

You sound like a fairly new user to VirtualBox. Since you are expected to know some basic terms before we engage in a meaningful discussion, I would suggest to start by reading three small chapters from the User Manual:
Chapter 1.7 contains the answer to your question.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12621
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Fixed size or Dynamic?

Postby mpack » 30. Nov 2017, 12:39

If you are concerned about the impact of a VM on your host then choose dynamic sized VDI.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25455
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests