Unknown device

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Unknown device

Postby Izi92 » 9. Nov 2017, 15:14

hi all,

After update to Vbox 5.2 i see on the startup this following messages :

ata1 master: VBOX CD-ROM ATAPI-6 CD-ROM/DVD-ROM
ata2 master: Unknown device
ata2 slave: Unknown device
ata3 master: Unknown device
ata3 slave: Unknown device

No operating systems are installed. I don't understand the reasons for this alerts during the startup.

Can you help me to understand?

Thanks
Izi92
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25. Oct 2017, 14:58

Re: Unknown device

Postby BillG » 10. Nov 2017, 06:40

That would indicate to me that the only storage device VirtualBox can see for the vm is its optical drive. What do you see if you go to Setting>>Storage?
Bill
BillG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 04:44
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary OS: MS Windows other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win 7 Win8.1 Win10 WinServer

Re: Unknown device

Postby Izi92 » 10. Nov 2017, 12:23

Yes
only one Controller IDE with HDD attached and one controller SATA with DVDROM

Please see the attachment
Attachments
VBoxStarage.png
VBoxStarage.png (29.66 KiB) Viewed 273 times
Izi92
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25. Oct 2017, 14:58

Re: Unknown device

Postby michaln » 10. Nov 2017, 13:00

A VBox.log would help a lot more than screenshots.
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2841
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Re: Unknown device

Postby Izi92 » 13. Nov 2017, 15:33

Sur! please see the log file
Attachments
VBox.log
(96.39 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Izi92
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25. Oct 2017, 14:58

Re: Unknown device

Postby Izi92 » 14. Nov 2017, 14:01

michaln wrote:A VBox.log would help a lot more than screenshots.



Do see anything in the log file ??
Izi92
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25. Oct 2017, 14:58

Re: Unknown device

Postby mpack » 14. Nov 2017, 14:29

I see that "System.vdi" is located on host drive E:. What is drive E: ? (full path "E:\DL_ENG.VM\System.vdi").

The location is currently marked as not mountable, so I assume there is something wrong with that path.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25487
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Unknown device

Postby michaln » 14. Nov 2017, 14:44

Yes. You probably have an old VM. It has 30 SATA ports, but only one actual device attached (VirtualBox used to create such configs, but not recently). You should reduce the number of ports on the SATA controller for the VM; it can be done in the GUI. That will get rid of the boot-up delay -- which is harmless, but annoying.
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2841
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Re: Unknown device

Postby Izi92 » 17. Nov 2017, 16:40

michaln wrote:Yes. You probably have an old VM. It has 30 SATA ports, but only one actual device attached (VirtualBox used to create such configs, but not recently). You should reduce the number of ports on the SATA controller for the VM; it can be done in the GUI. That will get rid of the boot-up delay -- which is harmless, but annoying.



I have only one SATA connected please see the screenshot above it's is strange to see this error with only one SATA?

On the log file E:\ is a drive where install the vdi's files

:roll: already on the flog
Izi92
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25. Oct 2017, 14:58


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests