connection between two VMs on two different hosts on the same network

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
lulukent

connection between two VMs on two different hosts on the same network

Post by lulukent »

Hello,
I am a newbie on using virtualbox and first time posting here. :wink:
I am trying to setup a test environment with two host computers connecting to the same subnet both having internet access.Next I installed Virtualbox manager on both and created one virtual machine on each host.
I want to make the two virtual machines communicate. How can I do that?
I figured out how to make two virtual machines installed on the same host communicate by using "internal network" setting but no clue how to do it when you have two different hosts on the same network.

I have an ideea where I can enable the second NIC on both and setup that as NAT but not sure if I am going the right way.I am hoping for an easier way.Any documentation or link to a youtube like site would be appreciated it.

Thank you
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: connection between two VMs on two different hosts on the same network

Post by socratis »

Two separate hosts and two VMs (one on each host) communicating with each other? I believe it "begs" for the network option to be "Bridged". That way your VMs will act as another computer in your LAN, and you can have your VMs talk to each other and the hosts as peers.

The "Internal" will definitely *not* work, as each internal network is kept private. Per host. Neither won't NAT without the proper port forwarding.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
lulukent

Post by lulukent »