Discuss the 5.2.0 release

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Discuss the 5.2.0 release

Postby klaus » 18. Oct 2017, 20:39

Discuss the 5.2.0 release here.
You can download the release here.
It's a new minor release with additional features.
klaus
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 534
Joined: 10. May 2007, 14:57

Latest VirtualBox Version Audio Lag In Game

Postby 007-theguru » 18. Oct 2017, 21:47

hello friends, we tried using virtual box version latest 5.2 with windows 10 installed, we usually play gta vice city in this system on vm but when we play it and shoot the audio dy-syncs with a 2 second sound lag. we tried changing the sound setting from intel HD Audio to another one but then we get no sound at all.

this issue is not in the version VirtualBox-5.1.18-114002 which we are using that does not have the sound issue at all.

can please investigate

Thx
Last edited by 007-theguru on 19. Oct 2017, 01:19, edited 1 time in total.
007-theguru
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 18. Oct 2017, 21:42

Re: Discuss the 5.2.0 release

Postby socratis » 18. Oct 2017, 23:16

@007-theguru
I merged your post in the "Discuss the 5.2.0 release". You'll have better chances of having the issue looked at...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12622
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Discuss the 5.2.0 release

Postby hurtavy » 19. Oct 2017, 20:20

Windows 8.1. After Virtualbox 5.2.0 instalation is the sounds lag in Black Desert Online on host system
hurtavy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 19. Oct 2017, 20:18

Re: Discuss the 5.2.0 release

Postby robatino » 19. Oct 2017, 21:21

With a Linux guest, I'm getting errors/warnings even when installing Guest Additions for the 4.13 kernel, which had been fixed in earlier VBox versions (see https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/17080#comment:6 ). As stated in the comment, I don't even know if the GA are being installed.
robatino
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 17. Dec 2008, 21:15

5.2: Bridged networking to WIRELESS no longer works

Postby Poul » 20. Oct 2017, 01:45

For many years I have used bridged networking to my Wireless Network Card (with differnet computers). It worked fine in 5.1.30. Now it has stopped working. I haven't changed any settings.
However if I bridge to my WIRED Card (and connect it wired), it still Works.
Guest and host are both Windows 10 home. Wireless Card is: Intel Dual Band Wireless AC 7260.
Attachments
VBox.zip
VBox.log
(37.4 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Poul
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 26. Sep 2015, 22:38

Re: Discuss the 5.2.0 release

Postby RonSMeyer1 » 20. Oct 2017, 01:49

I've had to back off 5.2. I have a Linux Mint 18.2 Host and a Mint 18.2 guest that I use for work. 3D acceleration does not work in the guest. When it starts the background flashes for half a second and then everything goes black. The mouse cursor is invisible, the panels are invisible. But strangely the Mint welcome screen can be seen. But you can't click on anything. If 3D is turned off it seems fine.
RonSMeyer1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 26. May 2012, 16:20
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Host: Linux Mint / Guests: Win7 32bit - Linux Mint - Win XP - Win 10 - OS/2 Warp 4 - MS-DOS

Re: Discuss the 5.2.0 release

Postby socratis » 20. Oct 2017, 07:02

@Poul
You might want to check out the conversation: bridged networking 5.2.0 issues.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12622
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Windows install file corrupt or is it just me?

Postby Enaj » 22. Oct 2017, 03:26

Hello,

I tried to install the new release (5.2.0) on my Windows 10 OS. First, I ran the .exe file but it gave me an error while running installation about a corrupt cabinet file. So I compared the SHA256 checksums and they did not match. So next, I tried redownloading but same problem. I am using Chrome so I switched to Edge browser...same issue with unmatching checksums.

Then, I tried downloading 5.1.30 and the checksums matched. Should I just install this other version or is there a way I can install the new release. I haven't used VirtualBox in a year and got a new computer so I'd rather install the latest...
Enaj
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22. Oct 2017, 03:16

Re: Windows install file corrupt or is it just me?

Postby robatino » 22. Oct 2017, 03:34

By far the most common cause of corrupted downloads is a truncated file. To avoid this, try using a command-line tool like wget instead of a browser. The following page also has a solution using PowerShell (I haven't tried it, I use wget). A good download tool will tell you the exact size in bytes of the complete file when it starts the download, so you'll know if you have the entire file.

https://superuser.com/questions/25538/h ... t-is-doing

Edit: Just to make sure the file is okay on the server, I downloaded VirtualBox-5.2.0-118431-Win.exe (using wget) and the SHA256 matches. The exact size of the file is 114075992 bytes.
Last edited by socratis on 23. Oct 2017, 07:33, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary verbatim quote of the whole previous message.
robatino
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 17. Dec 2008, 21:15

Re: Windows install file corrupt or is it just me?

Postby Enaj » 22. Oct 2017, 07:43

@ robatino,

Thank you so much for your help. I tried PowerShell's Invoke-WebRequest to download the file. The file size was correct, but the SHA256 checksums didn't match. So frustrating... :?

I finally decided to log on to my university's linux server and downloaded it from there using Putty and wgets. I then used WinSCP to download it locally. I already had Putty and WinSCP since we use them quite a bit for my courses. And, guess what? It worked, the checksums matched! Yay!

I am just super annoyed that I had to go about it in such a round-a-bout way. What irks me is that I don't know why it wouldn't download correctly straight to my computer. Just to double-check, I checked the hash again locally to make sure it was still correct (and it is)... I will install tomorrow and give an update.

Again, thank you for the wgets idea :)
Enaj
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22. Oct 2017, 03:16

Re: Windows install file corrupt or is it just me?

Postby robatino » 22. Oct 2017, 07:51

Enaj wrote:Thank you so much for your help. I tried PowerShell's Invoke-WebRequest to download the file. The file size was correct, but the SHA256 checksums didn't match. So frustrating... :?

It's disturbing that you had the full file but the checksum didn't match anyway. That's never happened to me. You might have some sort of hardware problem on your machine, maybe your HDD or RAM. You might want to run a few passes of a memory tester such as memtest86+ to check the RAM. I don't know offhand how to check for other issues.

Edit: My first guess is that it's probably not the RAM, since if it was bad enough to cause corruption most of the time on a 100M file, your machine would probably be crashing constantly, but it's worth checking anyway. If you're lucky, it might be a networking issue and not a problem in the machine itself.
robatino
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 17. Dec 2008, 21:15

Re: Discuss the 5.2.0 release

Postby johnlee » 23. Oct 2017, 19:49

The latest test build of 5.2 118425 is in the 'development' section of 'test builds' https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Testbuilds whereas, because 5.2 is a release it should be in test builds section and this should be renamed 'latest 5.2 test builds'. j
johnlee
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 30. Mar 2012, 20:07

VM settings is unresponsive

Postby clloyd » 26. Oct 2017, 02:43

After upgrading to 5.2, I can't change VM settings nor Manager's preferences. Both windows will become unresponsive after a few seconds with high CPU usage (>50%). The Manager will also become unresponsive if I open those setting windows.

I also cannot export appliance to 5.1.8. When I try to import it, it shows "Unrecognized OS".
clloyd
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 26. Oct 2017, 02:33

Re: VM settings is unresponsive

Postby michaln » 26. Oct 2017, 08:59

clloyd wrote:After upgrading to 5.2, I can't change VM settings nor Manager's preferences.

Does that happen with every host OS VirtualBox supports, or just the one you tried? If the latter, would you mind mentioning which one it was?

I also cannot export appliance to 5.1.8. When I try to import it, it shows "Unrecognized OS".

Is that an OS 5.1.8 is expected to recognize?
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2841
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Next

Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests