Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby markfilipak2 » 8. Aug 2017, 06:28

Thanks for helping we poor users...

Comments/help, please.

VBox Version 5.1.8 r111374 (Qt5.5.1)

Issues:
Issue #1: Are Surprises #1-4 anything to be concerned about?
Issue #2: Where was the manifest file created? (Or, what is it's name so I can search for it?)

Thanks, And Regards,
Mark.


Scenario:

2 days ago, I exported 'Mint.vdi' to 'Mint.ova'.

I continued to use the Mint VM.

Today, I renamed the "Mint" VM to "oldMint".

I imported 'Mint.ova' -- this, despite the notice that the "Import Virtual Appliance" dialog says: "VirtualBox currently supports importing appliances saved in the Open Virtualization Format (OVF)."

I realized that "oldMint" and "olderMint" would be confusing, so I renamed the "oldMint" VM to "Mint2" (because I had continued to use it, so it was really the 2nd Mint VM) and the imported VM to "Mint1" (because it was exported 2 days ago, so it was really the 1st Mint VM).

I got surprising results:
Surprise #1 - The import (Mint1) is a '.vmdk' whereas the export (Mint2 as of 2 days ago) was a '.vdi'.
Surprise #2 - The import was silently named "Mint-disk2.vmdk" whereas the export was "Mint.vdi".
Surprise #3 - The import is dynamic-size whereas the export was fixed-size.
Surprise #4 - The import's USB Controller is "xHCI, OHCI" whereas the export's USB Controller was "xHCI".

Manifest - As an experiment, I repeated the export but this time "[X] Write Manifest file" to see whether a manifest file would provide clues. But I can't find the manifest file! (and of course, I have no idea what it would be named).

Here are the details of a 'vboxmanage showhdinfo' run on each VM image:

>vboxmanage showhdinfo "c:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint2\Mint.vdi" <-- this is the export (as of 2 days ago)
UUID: 73b36aa5-b824-472c-b221-ff1b48eb97a5
Parent UUID: base
State: locked write
Type: normal (base)
Location: C:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint2\Mint.vdi
Storage format: VDI
Format variant: fixed default
Capacity: 16384 MBytes
Size on disk: 16386 MBytes
Encryption: disabled
In use by VMs: Mint2 (UUID: b0c407c9-e71c-48ac-b979-6d20ed5ee9a1)

>vboxmanage showhdinfo "c:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint1\Mint-disk2.vmdk" <-- this is the import
UUID: e3698cac-6aec-46bf-9a56-b73950b1646f
Parent UUID: base
State: created
Type: normal (base)
Location: C:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint1\Mint-disk2.vmdk
Storage format: VMDK
Format variant: dynamic default
Capacity: 16384 MBytes
Size on disk: 16009 MBytes
Encryption: disabled
In use by VMs: Mint1 (UUID: 16bcf73a-ee2a-4f8e-b144-e3aeb2a41fe7)
markfilipak2
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 15. Jul 2012, 18:23
Location: Ohio
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux Mint 18

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby BillG » 8. Aug 2017, 07:14

OVF is an open standard, not a VirtualBox program. It uses .vmdk for its virtual disks.

I would simply have copied all of the VirtualBox folder rather than use export. Or cloned the vm if I wanted a second instance.
Bill
BillG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4197
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 04:44
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 7,8,Server

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby mpack » 8. Aug 2017, 09:31

mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30022
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby markfilipak2 » 8. Aug 2017, 18:30

BillG wrote:OVF is an open standard, not a VirtualBox program. It uses .vmdk for its virtual disks.

I would simply have copied all of the VirtualBox folder rather than use export. Or cloned the vm if I wanted a second instance.

Simply copying the VM doesn't work because the result is not registered.
Registering the cloned VM failed. I've tried cloning-with-simultaneous-registration (which also failed) ...see my post (added below in a separate post, which follows this reply).
Last edited by markfilipak2 on 8. Aug 2017, 18:39, edited 1 time in total.
markfilipak2
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 15. Jul 2012, 18:23
Location: Ohio
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux Mint 18

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby markfilipak2 » 8. Aug 2017, 18:32

mpack wrote:Howto: Move a VM.

I'm not trying to move a VM. I'm trying to resize it (larger) while working around the issue that the original VM was fixed-size. ( ...see my post (added below in a separate post, which follows this reply).
markfilipak2
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 15. Jul 2012, 18:23
Location: Ohio
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux Mint 18

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby scottgus1 » 8. Aug 2017, 18:36

markfilipak wrote:the result is not registered

five simple words that mean worlds different than your first post spoke of. You mention that you get drive type & extension changes, etc. No mention of wanting to use the new copy of the guest. Very important piece of info there. Please tell the whole story so you can help us help you.

Neither Exporting nor folder-copying will give you another guest you can use at the same time as the original guest. You must clone the guest (right-click the guest & click Clone...). Make a full clone for easier backup of the guests later.

Edit: you actually don't want to use a second copy of the guest, you want to resize the original guest drive: Again, please tell the whole story so you can help us help you.

Resizing the guest virtual drive does not require registering a new guest. You can use Mpack's CloneVDI to expand the guest disk drive.
Last edited by scottgus1 on 8. Aug 2017, 18:39, edited 1 time in total.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4866
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby markfilipak2 » 8. Aug 2017, 18:38

Hello, And thanks for help we poor users...

Regards,
Mark.


I need to resize/clone+register a VM. I've tried what I found on the Internet and failed. How do I do it?

My experiences are below.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
> vboxmanage clonehd "c:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint2\Mint.vdi" "c:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint\Mint.vdi"
...appears to have succeeded.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
> vboxmanage showvminfo "c:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint\Mint.vdi"
VBoxManage.exe: error: Could not find a registered machine named 'c:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint\Mint.vdi'
VBoxManage.exe: error: Details: code VBOX_E_OBJECT_NOT_FOUND (0x80bb0001), component VirtualBoxWrap, interface IVirtualBox, callee IUnknown
VBoxManage.exe: error: Context: "FindMachine(Bstr(VMNameOrUuid).raw(), machine.asOutParam())" at line 2781 of file VBoxManageInfo.cpp
...hmmm... Can't 'showvminfo' for a VM that's not registered, eh?

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
> vboxmanage registervm "c:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint\Mint.vdi"
VBoxManage.exe: error: Extra content at the end of the document.
VBoxManage.exe: error: Location: 'c:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint\Mint.vdi', line 1 (0), column 2.
VBoxManage.exe: error: F:\tinderbox\win-5.1\src\VBox\Main\src-server\MachineImpl.cpp[485] (long __cdecl Machine::initFromSettings(class VirtualBox *,const class com::Utf8Str &,const class com::Guid *))
VBoxManage.exe: error: Details: code E_FAIL (0x80004005), component MachineWrap, interface IMachine, callee IUnknown
VBoxManage.exe: error: Context: "OpenMachine(Bstr(a->argv[0]).raw(), machine.asOutParam())" at line 85 of file VBoxManageMisc.cpp
...hmmm... Can't register the VM, eh?

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
> vboxmanage clonehd "c:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint2\Mint.vdi" "c:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint\Mint.vdi" --register
Oracle VM VirtualBox Command Line Management Interface Version 5.1.8
(C) 2005-2016 Oracle Corporation
All rights reserved.
Usage:
VBoxManage clonemedium      [disk|dvd|floppy] <uuid|inputfile> <uuid|outputfile>
                            [--format VDI|VMDK|VHD|RAW|<other>]
                            [--variant Standard,Fixed,Split2G,Stream,ESX]
                            [--existing]
Syntax error: unknown option: --register
...hmmm... Can't register while simultaneously cloning (so much for the command line help -- it's wrong!!)
=====
Note: the no-args list & what vboxmanage will actually accept as args are out of sync.
=====

Here's the VM I'm trying to resize/clone+register

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
> vboxmanage showvminfo Mint2
Name:            Mint2
Groups:          /
Guest OS:        Ubuntu (64-bit)
UUID:            b0c407c9-e71c-48ac-b979-6d20ed5ee9a1
Config file:     C:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint2\Mint2.vbox
Snapshot folder: C:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint2\Snapshots
Log folder:      C:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint2\Logs
Hardware UUID:   b0c407c9-e71c-48ac-b979-6d20ed5ee9a1
Memory size:     3584MB
Page Fusion:     off
VRAM size:       128MB
CPU exec cap:    100%
HPET:            off
Chipset:         piix3
Firmware:        BIOS
Number of CPUs:  1
PAE:             off
Long Mode:       on
Triple Fault Reset: off
APIC:            on
X2APIC:          off
CPUID Portability Level: 0
CPUID overrides: None
Boot menu mode:  message and menu
Boot Device (1): HardDisk
Boot Device (2): Not Assigned
Boot Device (3): Not Assigned
Boot Device (4): Not Assigned
ACPI:            on
IOAPIC:          on
BIOS APIC mode:  APIC
Time offset:     0ms
RTC:             UTC
Hardw. virt.ext: on
Nested Paging:   on
Large Pages:     on
VT-x VPID:       on
VT-x unr. exec.: on
Paravirt. Provider: Default
Effective Paravirt. Provider: KVM
State:           powered off (since 2017-08-08T06:18:10.000000000)
Monitor count:   1
3D Acceleration: on
2D Video Acceleration: off
Teleporter Enabled: off
Teleporter Port: 0
Teleporter Address:
Teleporter Password:
Tracing Enabled: off
Allow Tracing to Access VM: off
Tracing Configuration:
Autostart Enabled: off
Autostart Delay: 0
Default Frontend:
Storage Controller Name (0):            IDE
Storage Controller Type (0):            PIIX4
Storage Controller Instance Number (0): 0
Storage Controller Max Port Count (0):  2
Storage Controller Port Count (0):      2
Storage Controller Bootable (0):        on
Storage Controller Name (1):            SATA
Storage Controller Type (1):            IntelAhci
Storage Controller Instance Number (1): 0
Storage Controller Max Port Count (1):  30
Storage Controller Port Count (1):      1
Storage Controller Bootable (1):        on
IDE (0, 0): C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\VBoxGuestAdditions.iso (UUID: 444
18f18-593d-4641-ba85-843ce13948d7)
IDE (0, 1): Empty
SATA (0, 0): C:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint2\Mint.vdi (UUID: 73b36aa5-b824-47
2c-b221-ff1b48eb97a5)
NIC 1:           MAC: 080027D59F9F, Attachment: Bridged Interface 'Intel(R) Cent
rino(R) Wireless-N 6150', Cable connected: on, Trace: off (file: none), Type: 82
540EM, Reported speed: 0 Mbps, Boot priority: 0, Promisc Policy: deny, Bandwidth
 group: none
NIC 2:           disabled
NIC 3:           disabled
NIC 4:           disabled
NIC 5:           disabled
NIC 6:           disabled
NIC 7:           disabled
NIC 8:           disabled
Pointing Device: PS/2 Mouse
Keyboard Device: PS/2 Keyboard
UART 1:          disabled
UART 2:          disabled
UART 3:          disabled
UART 4:          disabled
LPT 1:           disabled
LPT 2:           disabled
Audio:           enabled (Driver: DSOUND, Controller: HDA, Codec: STAC9221)
Clipboard Mode:  Bidirectional
Drag and drop Mode: Bidirectional
VRDE:            disabled
USB:             disabled
EHCI:            disabled
XHCI:            enabled

USB Device Filters:

<none>

Bandwidth groups:  <none>

Shared folders:

Name: 'Data', Host path: 'c:\Data' (machine mapping), writable

Video capturing:    not active
Capture screens:    0
Capture file:       C:\Users\mark\VirtualBox VMs\Mint2\Mint2.webm
Capture dimensions: 1024x768
Capture rate:       512 kbps
Capture FPS:        25

Guest:

Configured memory balloon size:      0 MB
markfilipak2
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 15. Jul 2012, 18:23
Location: Ohio
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux Mint 18

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby scottgus1 » 8. Aug 2017, 18:42

Please see my edit above.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4866
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby markfilipak2 » 8. Aug 2017, 18:53

scottgus1 wrote:Please see my edit above.

Thank you for your very prompt reply. As you can see, it was too prompt :-) -- I was preparing my big post (above) as you were replying.

I'm sorry to present this issue piecemeal. I was trying to tackle it in parts rather than overwhelm you with detail. My fault.

Yes, I'm trying to resize a fixed-size VM by hook or by crook using tips I'd found on the Internet (by search). Now, I see that there's a new 'Clone' function built into the GUI. I also see that you guys have been working on the issue in other ways. I will try those other ways (which you have suggested in your very prompt reply).

Thanks soooooooo much! I will try your suggestions and get come here with the results. Please stand by, and relax, I'll be patient with this process because it's VERY important to me. [[You see, my browser screws up when I attempt to put it's user-profile in the host shared directory. That's why I'm running out of VM disk space. Thunderbird is okay with it's user-profile in the host shared directory, but my browser isn't ...Note: My browser is Pale Moon, a Firefox fork.]]

Please stand by.
Best Regards to YOU.
markfilipak2
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 15. Jul 2012, 18:23
Location: Ohio
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux Mint 18

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby mpack » 8. Aug 2017, 19:01

From the FAQ :-

FAQ: How to Move a VM wrote:If you want the original and the copy to be registered at the same time on the same host then you actually need to make a clone rather than a simple copy. To clone a VM you right click it in the GUI and select "Clone". [ VirtualBox v4.1.0 and later ].

By all means tell me if this could be clearer.

Whether you do the resize before or after depends on the exact scenario (i.e. whether snapshots are involved). If disk space is plentiful the the latter is usually bulletproof.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30022
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby markfilipak2 » 8. Aug 2017, 21:09

mpack wrote:From the FAQ :-

FAQ: How to Move a VM wrote:If you want the original and the copy to be registered at the same time on the same host then you actually need to make a clone rather than a simple copy. To clone a VM you right click it in the GUI and select "Clone". [ VirtualBox v4.1.0 and later ].

By all means tell me if this could be clearer.
My objective is not to clone, but clone I will if it will solve my problem. I cloned, but the clone is identical to the original except for times & UUIDs (according to 'vboxmanage showvminfo'). So, since the original is fixed-size, I assume the clone is fixed-size. (If 'vboxmanage showvminfo' shows whether a VM is fixed or variable, then it must be using different words.)
mpack wrote:Whether you do the resize before or after depends on the exact scenario (i.e. whether snapshots are involved). If disk space is plentiful the the latter is usually bulletproof.
It's the resize that's failing because the VM image is fixed-size.

I have to take a break from this for a few hours to eat with a friend. See ya.
markfilipak2
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 15. Jul 2012, 18:23
Location: Ohio
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux Mint 18

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby Martin » 8. Aug 2017, 21:29

As scottgus1 wrote above
scottgus1 wrote:Resizing the guest virtual drive does not require registering a new guest. You can use Mpack's CloneVDI to expand the guest disk drive.


Use this tool to clone and extend your virtual harddisk. ;)
Martin
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2261
Joined: 30. May 2007, 18:05
Primary OS: Fedora other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP, Win7, Linux, OS/2

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby markfilipak2 » 9. Aug 2017, 01:50

Thanks. And thanks to scottgus1. I'm attempting to use CloneVDI now.

Cross Reference: http://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=22422&p=399485#p399485

Regards,
Mark.
Last edited by socratis on 9. Aug 2017, 06:06, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary verbatim quote of the whole previous message.
markfilipak2
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 15. Jul 2012, 18:23
Location: Ohio
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux Mint 18

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby socratis » 9. Aug 2017, 06:18

Another option to increase the disk size is to use the 5.2.0 β1. It has that capability built-in the GUI, which makes it super-easy for people to screw up ;).

Just go to the Media Manager, select the disk, Properties, and use the slider to increase the disk size. It has some issues, such as not being "warned" when you decrease the disk size, or that you can't input the disk size numerically, but they're going to be fixed soon (most probably with β2).
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27259
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Export, then Import -- Surprises & Questions

Postby mpack » 9. Aug 2017, 09:58

socratis wrote:Another option to increase the disk size is to use the 5.2.0 β1. It has that capability built-in the GUI

Does it now support fixed size drives as input?
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30022
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Next

Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests