I use linux mint 18.1 installed Oracle VM VirtualBox windows 7 on it (got a USB problem)

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
sammy147

I use linux mint 18.1 installed Oracle VM VirtualBox windows 7 on it (got a USB problem)

Post by sammy147 »

Hello,

First of all, let me say hello to all of you. My name is Werner and I'm a newbie on linux mint 18.1

I installed the latest Oracle VM VirtualBox ( virtualbox-5.1_5.1.22-115126-Ubuntu-xenial_i386 ) and uses Windows 7 ultimate 32bit on it. The virtualbox works nice but the only problem I have is the USB port don't work. If I use my usb stick on my linux mint 18.1 then it works perfect but when I want to use it in my virtualbox, the virtualbox dont see my usb stick. I have installed the Oracle_VM_VirtualBox_Extension_Pack-5.1.22-115126, to be able to use my usb stick in my virtualbox. But it does not work ????

the reason why I use windows on my virtualbox is because I have a Garmin GPS and the programs from this gps only works in windows. So if I can use the usb in my virtualbox(windows7) then I can use all the programs for my Garmin gps.

Please, Can I ask you kindly to help me please? If you got any questions, I'll answer them as quick as possible. please keep in mind that I'm a newbie and keep the help simple please. I thank you very kindly in advance for all your good help and your time.

Friendly greetings,
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: I use linux mint 18.1 installed Oracle VM VirtualBox windows 7 on it (got a USB problem)

Post by scottgus1 »

USB is a finicky beast when trying to get a device into the guest. You have to follow the instructions in USB Basics and Troubleshooting exactly, then you should be able to use normal devices in your guest.