NAT Network

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
dukenukem

NAT Network

Post by dukenukem »

Hi newbie here,

I was just wondering how to do something regarding NAT Network. I am running Windows 7 service pack 1 Virtualbox 4.3.38.

I have created network adapter for my Windows Server 2012 R2 in preferences for NAT Network and I've called it Windows_Intranet and I disabled DHCP. How do I change the network address and subnet mask of this adapter?
BillG
Volunteer
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 10,7 and earlier

Re: NAT Network

Post by BillG »

It might be better if you told us exactly what you want to do with this vm. There is not much point in setting up a NAT network without DHCP unless you are doing something unusual.
Bill
dukenukem

Post by dukenukem »

BillG wrote:It might be better if you told us exactly what you want to do with this vm. There is not much point in setting up a NAT network without DHCP unless you are doing something unusual.
I'm doing an assignment so that's what it says to do. Then later I configure the network adapter inside the VM with an IP of 172.16.60.25, subnet mask of 255.255.255.0, default gateway of 172.16.60.1, preferred DNS: 8.8.8.8, alternate DNS 8.8.4.4 which I can do with no problem. It's just the first part I am having trouble with: setting a network address and subnet mask for the network adapter in Virtualbox.
BillG
Volunteer

Post by BillG »

You set it just as you would in a physical machine. There is no step in between. Just configure it from within the vm with the values you have been given.
Bill
dukenukem

Post by dukenukem »

I already did that part. Please have a look at the original question. Here's the instructions straight from the assignment:
Configure a network adapter for Windows Server 2012.