AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby Martin » 16. May 2017, 09:35

zypA13510 wrote:For anyone interested, I have also found this on the Internet. It has a detailed analysis and explanation of this issue.

Did you compare the name of the blog author with the user here providing the workaround? ;)
Martin
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2241
Joined: 30. May 2007, 18:05
Primary OS: Fedora other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP, Win7, Linux, OS/2

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby michaln » 16. May 2017, 11:22

On https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Testbuilds there are new test builds which automatically enable a workaround (clear the CPUID VME bit) on AMD Ryzen CPUs. With those, no manual tweaking should be necessary.
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2958
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby sefir » 17. May 2017, 13:54

I have a Ryzen 5 1500 x and i faced the same problem. I am using VirtualBox and i have virtualized 2 machines 32-bits windows XP and i always have black screen after boot. I have solved changing the config of virtual machine(Configuration/System/Aceleration and Toggle off in VT-X+x/AMD-V) and now the virtual machines works.
sefir
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 17. May 2017, 13:50

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby Hula » 18. May 2017, 22:34

Hi,

is "Ryzen" the same reason why i can install only 32bit guests? Drives me crazy because i shutdown my intel-host and rebuild it with Win 10 64 Pro and a Ryzen - and now i can only install/use 32bit guests. I virtualize my old Intel-Win10-64 Systems and for testing purpose it works on my old rig.
Hula
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 6. May 2017, 19:39

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby BillG » 19. May 2017, 04:10

Have you tried using one of the test builds listed above? Have you enabled hardware virtualization (AMD-V) in the host machine's BIOS?
Bill
BillG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4184
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 04:44
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 7,8,Server

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby dbjungle » 19. May 2017, 04:23

BillG wrote:Have you tried using one of the test builds listed above? Have you enabled hardware virtualization (AMD-V) in the host machine's BIOS?

I'm using a Ryzen 7 with SVM and IOMMU enabled in my BIOS. I have installed the 5.1.23 r115417 test build in Windows 10 x64. I'm not having the black screen issue; I use all 64-bit guests. I am however having periodic freezes in my Windows 8.1 x64 guest OS. I have done a little testing in Xubuntu 14.04 64-bit and didn't notice any of these issues. However my Windows guest seems to have the hardest time. Initially I was trying to run it over a USB 3.0 hard drive and the freezes were unbearable, then I moved it to my NVMe drive and performance marginally improved. After upgrading to the 5.1.23 test build, I've had much better performance with my virtual disk on the NVMe drive, but after about 10 minutes or so the freezes began to be too much to handle again. I still have my old FX-8320 PC handy so I'm willing to try anything on the Ryzen machine.
dbjungle
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2. Oct 2015, 20:45

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby michaln » 19. May 2017, 09:59

Hula wrote:is "Ryzen" the same reason why i can install only 32bit guests?

No.
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2958
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby michaln » 19. May 2017, 10:00

dbjungle wrote:I have installed the 5.1.23 r115417 test build in Windows 10 x64. I'm not having the black screen issue; I use all 64-bit guests. I am however having periodic freezes in my Windows 8.1 x64 guest OS.

Completely unrelated to this discussion.
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2958
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby Hula » 19. May 2017, 14:28

Im Sorry, failure sitting in front of the monitor. My first time with a uefi bios and i did not find the AMD-V option. My fault. Got it late in the night. Sorry again :idea:
Hula
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 6. May 2017, 19:39

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby michaln » 19. May 2017, 20:04

Hula wrote:My first time with a uefi bios and i did not find the AMD-V option.

I'd blame the vendor for disabling AMD-V by default :)
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2958
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby yuhong » 24. May 2017, 05:46

I am surprised that Oracle has no AMD contacts to report bugs like this. There is "bugref:8852" in the commit that has the workaround.
yuhong
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 12. Sep 2011, 06:02
Primary OS: MS Windows other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby socratis » 24. May 2017, 06:20

@yohong
  • Your first (and last so far) post was on 2011-09-12. Wow, that's what I call a regular :D
  • How do you know they don't already have a contact? Just curious... It's not that if they report an issue with hardware, AMD is going to issue a patch.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25934
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby yuhong » 27. May 2017, 19:41

I am asking especially because a hack for this has already been added into VirtualBox.
yuhong
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 12. Sep 2011, 06:02
Primary OS: MS Windows other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby socratis » 27. May 2017, 20:58

"Hacks" like this have to be implemented all the time in software to bypass hardware limitations/bugs. You can't get around a hardware bug by issuing a hardware patch. Your only option is to implement a software "hack".
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25934
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: AMD-V with Ryzen not yet supported?

Postby yuhong » 29. May 2017, 06:16

socratis wrote:"Hacks" like this have to be implemented all the time in software to bypass hardware limitations/bugs. You can't get around a hardware bug by issuing a hardware patch. Your only option is to implement a software "hack".

Microcode update.
yuhong
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 12. Sep 2011, 06:02
Primary OS: MS Windows other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows

PreviousNext

Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests