Fortigate VM error

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Fortigate VM error

Postby Armand Lee » 22. Mar 2016, 16:54

Hi Everyone,

I'm new here so bear with me. I am having issues when importing Fortigate VM on Vbox. I'm not sure if there is a problem with the version or Vbox is just not really accepting Fortigate VMs. Can someone help me on this.. Please..

Thank you.
Armand Lee
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 22. Mar 2016, 16:40

Re: Fortigate VM error

Postby scottgus1 » 22. Mar 2016, 18:33

See Minimal information needed to be able to help
Also, a link to the Fortigate VM website, in an attached text file if you can't post links yet.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Fortigate VM error

Postby sub7even » 29. Jun 2016, 09:19

Hi there,

w w w.fortinet.c o m/products-services/products/firewall/fortigate-virtual-appliances.html

I have the OS for this, how can i post it here?

Regards,
sub7even
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. Jun 2016, 09:10

Re: Fortigate VM error

Postby sub7even » 29. Jun 2016, 09:31

for my case, i only get stucked on the bootup screen;

Decompressing kernel...done.
Booting the kernel.
__
sub7even
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. Jun 2016, 09:10

Re: Fortigate VM error

Postby mpack » 29. Jun 2016, 12:08

Please pick one VM, and post the VM log file for it. With the VM fully shut down, right click it in GUI. Select "Show Log" and save "VBox.log" (ONLY) to a zip file. Attach the zip here.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29164
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Fortigate VM error

Postby idahood » 28. Oct 2016, 20:19

Resurrecting an old thread, but here is the log requested. I am seeing a similar issue with the FortigateVM.
Attachments
FGT_VM-2016-10-28-12-02-18.log.gz
(21.39 KiB) Downloaded 133 times
idahood
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 28. Oct 2016, 20:12

Re: Fortigate VM error

Postby scottgus1 » 28. Oct 2016, 20:47

The log shows boot up to 3 seconds then a jump to 8 mins 51 secs with a GUI request to shut down. No errors that I can see.
I'd say you need to take this up with the Fortigate folks.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Fortigate VM error

Postby socratis » 28. Oct 2016, 20:53

A couple of things that I couldn't figure out/have questions about:
  • You can't download a demo without registering. No gonna happen.
  • They don't mention what their VM's OS is based upon. At least I couldn't find it.
  • From their website:
    FortiGate-VM virtual appliance is ideal for monitoring and enforcing virtual traffic on leading virtualization, cloud, and SDN platforms including VMware vSphere, Hyper-V, Xen, KVM, and AWS.
    I don't see VirtualBox listed.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 23712
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Fortigate VM error

Postby Leo.Aslan » 18. Apr 2019, 20:10

Hi everyone i am not able to boot fortigate VM. attach is the log file.
Attachments
Fortigate Vmlog.7z
(31.3 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
VBox.log
(110.28 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Leo.Aslan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 18. Apr 2019, 20:07

Re: Fortigate VM error

Postby scottgus1 » 18. Apr 2019, 20:41

Walking dead-thread, maybe?

Leo.Aslan's first log shows the same as before, booting until about 6 seconds, then dropping off into Narnia until almost 9 minutes-ish, then a request to turn off.

A google search "fortigate vm on virtualbox" leads to a reddit post https://www.reddit.com/r/fortinet/comme ... irtualbox/:
u/devdacool wrote:I did have to take a little bit of a round about way to get a FortiGate VM to even boot in VirtualBox. I had to download the OpenXen VM version to get the qcow2 file format then use the qemu-img Linux utility to convert it to a vmdk file (or VDI), which I could then boot from successfully.


If there are any errors that appear, then please post them as text (copy the text, or re-type what the picture says). Otherwise, if the OS starts booting then sits there doing nothing, I'd say the usual offering from Fortigate isn't compatible with Virtualbox and you will have to try u/devdacool's process.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests