[Solved] resize hd on virtualbox

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
Post Reply
hirol
Posts: 3
Joined: 17. Sep 2015, 16:05

[Solved] resize hd on virtualbox

Post by hirol »

hi everyone and thanks to this forum
my problem i am trying to resize my hd in ubuntu 14.04 as i saw in a tuto the problem is firstly i suppose to enter this comment in windows prompt but an error occur how to fix it

Code: Select all

c:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>VBoxManage modifyhd "C:\Users\User\VirtualBox
 VMs\server Clone\server Clone.vdi" --resize 12000
VBoxManage.exe: error: Failed to lock media when compacting 'C:\Users\User\Virtu
alBox VMs\server Clone\server Clone.vdi'
VBoxManage.exe: error: Details: code VBOX_E_INVALID_OBJECT_STATE (0x80bb0007), c
omponent Medium, interface IMedium, callee IUnknown
VBoxManage.exe: error: Context: "Resize(cbResize, progress.asOutParam())" at lin
e 591 of file VBoxManageDisk.cpp
help me
noteirak
Site Moderator
Posts: 5229
Joined: 13. Jan 2012, 11:14
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Debian, Win 2k8, Win 7
Contact:

Re: resize hd on virtualbox

Post by noteirak »

Show the output of

Code: Select all

vboxmanage showmediuminfo "C:\Users\User\VirtualBox VMs\server Clone\server Clone.vdi"
Hyperbox - Virtual Infrastructure Manager - https://apps.kamax.lu/hyperbox/
Manage your VirtualBox infrastructure the free way!
hirol
Posts: 3
Joined: 17. Sep 2015, 16:05

Re: resize hd on virtualbox

Post by hirol »

Code: Select all

vboxmanage showmediuminfo "C:\Users\User\VirtualBox VMs\server Clone\server Clone.vdi"
                              [--domain <domain>] [--verbose]

                              createtemp[orary]|mktemp
                              <template> --username <name>
                              [--passwordfile <file> | --password <password>]
                              [--directory] [--secure] [--tmpdir <directory>]
                              [--domain <domain>] [--mode <mode>] [--verbose]

                              list <all|sessions|processes|files> [--verbose]

                              process kill --session-id <ID>
                                           | --session-name <name or pattern>
                                           [--verbose]
                                           <PID> ... <PID n>

                              [p[s]]kill --session-id <ID>
                                         | --session-name <name or pattern>
                                         [--verbose]
                                         <PID> ... <PID n>

                              session close  --session-id <ID>
                                           | --session-name <name or pattern>
                                           | --all
                                           [--verbose]

                              stat
                              <file>... --username <name>
                              [--passwordfile <file> | --password <password>]
                              [--domain <domain>] [--verbose]

                              updateadditions
                              [--source <guest additions .ISO>] [--verbose]
                              [--wait-start]
                              [-- [<argument1>] ... [<argumentN>]]

                              watch [--verbose]

  debugvm                   <uuid|vmname>
                            dumpguestcore --filename <name> |
                            info <item> [args] |
                            injectnmi |
                            log [--release|--debug] <settings> ...|
                            logdest [--release|--debug] <settings> ...|
                            logflags [--release|--debug] <settings> ...|
                            osdetect |
                            osinfo |
                            getregisters [--cpu <id>] <reg>|all ... |
                            setregisters [--cpu <id>] <reg>=<value> ... |
                            show [--human-readable|--sh-export|--sh-eval|
                                  --cmd-set]
                                <logdbg-settings|logrel-settings>
                                [[opt] what ...] |
                            statistics [--reset] [--pattern <pattern>]
                            [--descriptions]

  metrics                   list [*|host|<vmname> [<metric_list>]]
                                                 (comma-separated)

  metrics                   setup
                            [--period <seconds>] (default: 1)
                            [--samples <count>] (default: 1)
                            [--list]
                            [*|host|<vmname> [<metric_list>]]

  metrics                   query [*|host|<vmname> [<metric_list>]]

  metrics                   enable
                            [--list]
                            [*|host|<vmname> [<metric_list>]]

  metrics                   disable
                            [--list]
                            [*|host|<vmname> [<metric_list>]]

  metrics                   collect
                            [--period <seconds>] (default: 1)
                            [--samples <count>] (default: 1)
                            [--list]
                            [--detach]
                            [*|host|<vmname> [<metric_list>]]

  natnetwork                add --netname <name>
                            --network <network>
                            [--enable|--disable]
                            [--dhcp on|off]
                            [--port-forward-4 <rule>]
                            [--loopback-4 <rule>]
                            [--ipv6 on|off]
                            [--port-forward-6 <rule>]
                            [--loopback-6 <rule>]

  natnetwork                remove --netname <name>

  natnetwork                modify --netname <name>
                            [--network <network>]
                            [--enable|--disable]
                            [--dhcp on|off]
                            [--port-forward-4 <rule>]
                            [--loopback-4 <rule>]
                            [--ipv6 on|off]
                            [--port-forward-6 <rule>]
                            [--loopback-6 <rule>]

  natnetwork                start --netname <name>

  natnetwork                stop --netname <name>

  hostonlyif                ipconfig <name>
                            [--dhcp |
                            --ip<ipv4> [--netmask<ipv4> (def: 255.255.255.0)]
                            --ipv6<ipv6> [--netmasklengthv6<length> (def: 64)]
                            create |
                            remove <name>

  dhcpserver                add|modify --netname <network_name> |
                                       --ifname <hostonly_if_name>
                            [--ip <ip_address>
                            --netmask <network_mask>
                            --lowerip <lower_ip>
                            --upperip <upper_ip>]
                            [--enable | --disable]

  dhcpserver                remove --netname <network_name> |
                                   --ifname <hostonly_if_name>

  extpack                   install [--replace] <tarball> |
                            uninstall [--force] <name> |
                            cleanup


Syntax error: Invalid command 'showmediuminfo'

c:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox>

i think that i mean that showmediuminfo is an invalid command
mpack
Site Moderator
Posts: 39134
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: resize hd on virtualbox

Post by mpack »

You could try "showhdinfo" instead. And p.s. it's helpful to mention the VBox version number, rather than leave us guessing.

Personally I think we should just cut to the chase. I find it unlikely that you want to resize the drive to 12GB, I find it more likely that you want to increase the size by 12GB, but you didn't read the syntax instructions correctly. The number on the command line should be the new size (in MB) not the increment.

Also, make sure that all VMs using this VDI are fully shut down - not running or suspended - and that no snapshots are in use.
noteirak
Site Moderator
Posts: 5229
Joined: 13. Jan 2012, 11:14
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Debian, Win 2k8, Win 7
Contact:

Re: resize hd on virtualbox

Post by noteirak »

hirol wrote:i think that i mean that showmediuminfo is an invalid command
At least we know you're using VirtualBox 4.x
Look at mpack's post above, seems like he's on the right track.
Hyperbox - Virtual Infrastructure Manager - https://apps.kamax.lu/hyperbox/
Manage your VirtualBox infrastructure the free way!
hirol
Posts: 3
Joined: 17. Sep 2015, 16:05

Re: resize hd on virtualbox

Post by hirol »

hi dear frind sorry for this late
i have alredy solved my problem
the problem was virtual machine state
it was on i suppose to switch off mon virtual machine before all the manipulation
thanks all the same :D :D for ur attention
Post Reply