[Solved] Installing MS-DOS on VirtualBox from floppy images

Discussions about using non Windows and Linux guests such as FreeBSD, DOS, OS/2, OpenBSD, etc.
ZenHacker
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: MS-DOS 6.22, Kali Linux, Plan 9, Metasploitable

[Solved] Installing MS-DOS on VirtualBox from floppy images

Post by ZenHacker »

I have no idea how to do this. I understand you're supposed to install an operating system from an ISO file, but is it possible to install an operating system from multiple .IMA floppy disk images? I'm trying to install MS-DOS on VirtualBox, but I don't know where to find an ISO file for it, and I don't know if there are ISO files of MS-DOS, seeing as it's an older operating system. I downloaded a copy of the MS-DOS 5.0 installer from vetusware(.)com, and it came as three floppy images. I'm totally new to this, so any help would be appreciated.
DevJackson

Re: Installing MS-DOS on VirtualBox from three floppy images

Post by DevJackson »

Not some vbox pro, by far. Trying finding a way to combine the three floppy images of MSDOS into an iso. A google search "floppy images to iso" pulls up a link to winimage
You can probably find an iso through a google search or on your flavor of torrent site.
dlharper
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
Guest OSses: MS Windows (several versions); DOS

Post by dlharper »

Can I suggest you use DOS 6.2 (the latest stand-alone version was 6.22). It has the best installation routine, as well as facilities the earlier versions don't have. It is downloadable from various places. Technically is still has Microsoft's copyright, but it is so old they seem happy for people to use it. (I am not sure I am supposed to say that here.)