How to assign multiple static IP's on vm

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
orenpp1

How to assign multiple static IP's on vm

Post by orenpp1 »

Hi there,

I'm a newb and in need of help in configuring different static IP's for each of my VM's

Hardware:
single desktop, 1 NIC, virtualbox software (windows 7), standard DSL connection.

I have several static IP's purchased from my ISP.
each VM created was created with different virtual MAC address

I need each of my VM to show different static IP
Would appreciate any prompt response....
Perryg
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: How to assign multiple static IP's on vm

Post by Perryg »

Use bridged mode for the network adapter and then assign the static address according to how the provider tells you to do it in the guest/s.
Perryg
Site Moderator

Post by Perryg »

Copied from PM
I've set all machines with a seperate dail up and they all have different public IP's
My problem is when surfing on one of the machines when a disconnection takes place
The machine will then use the host's dail up connection thus resulting in the same IP.

How can I disable the machines from connecting to the host's dail up connection??
Guest network actually uses the host network stack for connection. You can use bridged mode to connect static addresses to the guest, but it will still be using the host stack for the transport. If I gather what it is that you are trying to achieve it would probably be better to have a router from your DSL to the host and that way the host will not interfere as much with the guest connections. How this would work really depends on your provider and how they actually do the routing and for that you would need to contact them. There are simply too many different ways that the providers handle this for anyone to be able to tell how remotely.
orenpp1

Post by orenpp1 »

Thanks for the prompt answer,