Get a Virus on the Host while using Internet over NAT??

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
docdidi69

Get a Virus on the Host while using Internet over NAT??

Post by docdidi69 »

Hi there,

at first: my english isn't the best in world. So please be tolerant to a young german guy ;-)
Now my questions:

I'm using VirtualBox on a Win XP Prof. host and a Linux-guest (Ubuntu 7.04). And VirtualBox is the fastest FREE Virtual Machine I ever tested!

It's my first try to test out how I can get a better secured internet connection (e.g. online-banking, ...) without be aware of viruses, keylogger-programs and so on.
I've got a general question about the use of a Virtual Machines:
I establish an internet connection on my host and using this connection over NAT to bring it to my Linux-guest machine. But what about the security?
Question (1): Can a keylogger log my keyboard-inputs in my virtual machine?
(2): What about an infection of the host-system while i'm surfing the internet in my guest-machine with my host-established connection? Can a virus infect VirtualBox and try to corrupt my virtual machines?
(3): Is it possible to use my Intel Centrino WLAN-card in my Linux-guest without establishing a connection from my host? Then the answer is yes, how can i realize it? (Bridging is not possible, because WLAN-cards can't be bridged under Windows.)

Thanks for your answer(s).
bodhi.zazen
Volunteer

Re: Get a Virus on the Host while using Internet over NAT??

Post by bodhi.zazen »

docdidi69 wrote:Hi there,

at first: my english isn't the best in world. So please be tolerant to a young german guy ;-)
Now my questions:

I'm using VirtualBox on a Win XP Prof. host and a Linux-guest (Ubuntu 7.04). And VirtualBox is the fastest FREE Virtual Machine I ever tested!

It's my first try to test out how I can get a better secured internet connection (e.g. online-banking, ...) without be aware of viruses, keylogger-programs and so on.