Accessing the real hard drives

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
skippy456

Accessing the real hard drives

Post by skippy456 »

I'm running windows 7 64 bit pro, I've installed Gparted on Virtualbox as I want to partition hard drives and SD cards, but Gparted can't see any of the hard drives on my PC.

Same thing happens when I install Windows XP etc.... it can see "virtual" hard drives but not the ones in the real world.

How can i make Virtualbox see all my hard drives etc in the real world ?

Instead of having to reboot my PC to use an OS in multi boot setup, the aim of me getting that was install different OS on my PC and use them with my real hard drives etc..

Can you guys help.

By the way I am an IT professional like you.
BillG
Volunteer
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 10,7 and earlier

Re: Accessing the real hard drives

Post by BillG »

The simple answer is that you can't. You can share files between the host and guest using shared folders (once you have an OS installed) but you cannot directly access the hard drive in a vm from the host or vice versa. The guest is effectively another computer with its own hard drive(s) and vice versa.

There may be ways to do what you want but they would probably not be supported by VirtualBox or the hardware manufacturer.
Bill
skippy456

Post by skippy456 »

Thats very strange to hear ... for yrs I've been using emulators to play ZX Spectrum games on my PC and they can access real hard drives etc...

I thought Virtualbox was an emulator....and considering Oracle own it... you'd think it would do what I want it to do...

Can Oracle add the features I want to it ?

Is there software I can use to do what I want ?
mpack
Site Moderator
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Post by mpack »

This is all nonsense.

VirtualBox is not an emulator, it's a VM hypervisor.