Editing snapshots properties - Is it a bug?

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Editing snapshots properties - Is it a bug?

Postby DdB » 28. Nov 2010, 06:16

VB 3.2.10 (earlier releases act the same way) on Vista:
When editing a snapshots properties from the VB GUI (i used to store private Metadata like pwd's, update statuses a.s.o. in the comments field), when i want to get that info into the clipboard by selecting and copying it, or when pasting info into it, the GUI most often crashes (hangs itself). this happens so regularly, that i started avoiding... copying by hand (typing again all of the data).

Now i wanted to enter a bug report, but i am asked to diskuss the issue here before doing so.
DdB
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 22. May 2010, 23:27
Location: Germany
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: many

Re: Editing snapshots properties - Is it a bug?

Postby mpack » 28. Nov 2010, 15:12

If it's a bug I'm thinking about, it's both long standing and well known. Basically, pasting into an edit field can lock up the GUI. I haven't personally seen a hang when copying from an edit field, but that may also apply. So search before posting a new bug report.

Strictly speaking, it may not be a bug in VirtualBox itself, but instead in the QT4 libraries that the VBox GUI uses. Probably not a great comfort to you but there it is.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13215
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Editing snapshots properties - Is it a bug?

Postby DdB » 28. Nov 2010, 20:08

Thank you for your input. Since i couldnt find this bug, neither in Qt development nor in VB's, i created a ticket here: http://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/7771
DdB
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 22. May 2010, 23:27
Location: Germany
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: many


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests