How to import VMWare Workstation 7 VM into Sun VirtualBox (l

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

How to import VMWare Workstation 7 VM into Sun VirtualBox (l

Postby Blade1 » 22. Dec 2009, 12:38

Hi,

I am planning on installing the latest version of VirtualBox on my Windows 7 machine (this app looks promising). I made about 6 VMs using Workstation 7.0 and want to import these into VBox.

What is the best way to go about this? I've seen various articles but they don't describe the versions used, and for the latest VBox version, the process might be shorter/more reliable etc.

Also, do I need to do a lot of configuration for getting my internet working on a guest? VMWare Workstation 7.0 just requires the selection of network mode and that is it.

Thanks
Blade1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22. Dec 2009, 12:32
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: Windows Server

Re: How to import VMWare Workstation 7 VM into Sun VirtualBox (l

Postby Technologov » 22. Dec 2009, 13:05

There is no easy way exist.

Easiest is to install fresh VMs.

BTW: This is my 1200'th post !!!
Technologov
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2754
Joined: 10. May 2007, 16:59
Location: Israel

Re: How to import VMWare Workstation 7 VM into Sun VirtualBox (l

Postby Blade1 » 22. Dec 2009, 13:59

What about this?

http://www.ubuntugeek.com/howto-convert ... image.html

Ok, if the most easy and convenient way (simple import) does not exist, I will be prepared to do some config as it took some time to get the VMs running when I had VMWare Workstation 7.0. Solution 2 is what I was after, does this not work in VBox? There are quite a few links on these sort of approaches.

Thanks
Blade1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22. Dec 2009, 12:32
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: Windows Server

Re: How to import VMWare Workstation 7 VM into Sun VirtualBox (l

Postby Technologov » 22. Dec 2009, 14:21

Looking the hard way ? huh

Go on:
http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Migrate_Windows

-Technologov
Technologov
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2754
Joined: 10. May 2007, 16:59
Location: Israel

Re: How to import VMWare Workstation 7 VM into Sun VirtualBox (l

Postby ChipMcK » 24. Dec 2009, 19:27

the .vmdk format is the same under VirtualBox and VMware products.
The only hang-up is Tools and Additions - to properly remove or uninstall, the virtual machine needs
to be running under the 'owning application' - VB or VMware whatever.
ChipMcK
Volunteer
 
Posts: 604
Joined: 20. May 2009, 02:17
Location: U S of A
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: How to import VMWare Workstation 7 VM into Sun VirtualBox (l

Postby Technologov » 24. Dec 2009, 19:58

>The only hang-up is Tools and Additions - to properly remove or uninstall, the virtual machine needs...

really ?
You never had a BSOD after changing disk controller hardware (Windows guests) ? or an X11 crash after changing video card (Linux guests) ?
Moving VMs between virtualizers is not as easy as you think...

-Technologov
Technologov
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2754
Joined: 10. May 2007, 16:59
Location: Israel

Re: How to import VMWare Workstation 7 VM into Sun VirtualBox (l

Postby ChipMcK » 24. Dec 2009, 20:44

ide to ide

scsi lsi to scsi lsi

scsi bus to scsi bus

you do need to plan ahead
ChipMcK
Volunteer
 
Posts: 604
Joined: 20. May 2009, 02:17
Location: U S of A
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests