[Solved] VirtualBox Formatting?

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
Fernando Hernandez
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Windows XP

[Solved] VirtualBox Formatting?

Post by Fernando Hernandez »

Hello, I'm new to VirtualBox. I've always been able to use WINE to run my Windows programs on Ubuntu, but I ran into trouble with one and heard VirtualBox might be able to make it work. I've got it installed and up and running and am just about to begin installing Windows XP...but I have a few questions about the installation process. My apologizes if this is a n00b question; I google'd a few things before resorting to asking, but didn't find anything addressing this in particular.

When I go through the install process, it asks me if I want to install XP onto my unpartitioned space. I said yes, and the next step was that it would need to format. Again, I'm new to this...any time I've had to install a new OS on my computer, it's been new or newly formatted and had nothing else on it, so I don't know much about installing a new partition on a computer where I'm already happy with my Linux OS. And I assume installing to VirtualBox isn't going to be exactly the same as installing a full-fledged dual boot OS onto my machine. So I'm thinking the most obvious answer is that no, installing XP onto my unpartitioned space isn't going to result in formatting my computer and losing my Linux OS (currently the only operating system on this machine). But I figure better safe than sorry...I'll ask and make sure before I just wing it and end up losing the setup I'm very happy with.