Mint Linux: LiveCD Problem

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
ray2047

Mint Linux: LiveCD Problem

Post by ray2047 »

~VirtualBox 1.4 - Host: PCLinux OS~

I am trying to install Mint Linux. It has to be installed from the Live CD. When I run the Live Cd even in safe graphics mode I get a black screen and then nothing. I upped the Ram to 500 thinking it might be a RAM problem.

As a test I also tried running the Freespire LiveCD. It tried to run but then froze two thirds of the way through install.

I have successfully installed Win 2K to Virtual Box but a total newbie at installing a Linux Guest. Any help appreciated.
Ingo
Volunteer

Post by Ingo »

ray2047

Post by ray2047 »

Thanks for trying to help but your posted link isn't relevant to my problem. Perhaps my post wasn't clear. The live CD doesn't load. Doesn't even try to load. After the boot menu comes up and I choose I get a black screen and nothing happens.
Ingo
Volunteer

Post by Ingo »

OK.
With VirtualBox you created a Virtual Machine. Now you inserted your Win 2k Installation CD into the host CD-ROM drive and started the VM. Within the VM the installation CD boots up and you are able to install Win 2k into the VM. Right?

Now you created a second Virtual Machine, inserted the live CD from Mint Linux into your CD-ROM drive and started the second VM. Now your live CD should boot up within the second VM.
- does it?
- do you have to press any key to boot ... or something else?
- what boot menu comes up? Is it from the live CD?
- is the live CD a multisession CD?
- is there a textmode installation procedure on your live CD?

If you shut down all virtual machines and close VirtualBox, can you mount and access the live CD?

Very common and running Linux installations in this forum are ubuntu, debian, fedora or suse. Maybe you start with one of them.
ray2047

Post by ray2047 »