Why was "Host Interface" removed in 2.2?

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Why was "Host Interface" removed in 2.2?

Postby software » 13. Apr 2009, 16:03

Hello,

Having the option of selecting the specific NIC in the "Host Interface" was a great option for me. I have more than one NIC and having different Guest selecting different NIC was a great thing when it was added. Now with 2.2.0, I am not able to select specific NIC's. Please bring back the selection of specific NIC's.
software
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 13. Apr 2009, 15:55
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: XP

Re: Why was "Host Interface" removed in 2.2?

Postby Sasquatch » 13. Apr 2009, 16:08

It's not removed, it's renamed to Bridged. If you use Windows, repair the setup, that will bring the NIC choice back. A reboot might be needed after the repair.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: Why was "Host Interface" removed in 2.2?

Postby software » 13. Apr 2009, 16:20

Hello,

It is my understanding that once a NIC is assigned to a "Bridge", the NIC takes on the IP address of the Bridge. You can only assign one NIC to a Bridge. My NIC's are on different networks and that it what was so nice about selecting the specific NIC. If I have three NIC's, 192.168.3.x, 192.168.7.x, 193,145,12,x. How would I setup a "Bridge" for three guest to access the three NIC's?
software
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 13. Apr 2009, 15:55
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: XP

Re: Why was "Host Interface" removed in 2.2?

Postby Sasquatch » 14. Apr 2009, 14:25

Please read the manual and check the settings. Your answer is there right in front of you. You just take a NIC to use, it's only called bridged, it doesn't create one.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: Why was "Host Interface" removed in 2.2?

Postby Yuufo » 15. Apr 2009, 11:58

Hi,

I am a former 2.1.4 user (Fedora 8 host and guest), using Host Interface Networking. I read here that this networking mode was renamed "Bridged network". I selected this bridged networking mode in the 2.2 interface. However after the 2.2 upgrade, I get the following error popup at VM startup :

Failed to start the virtual machine Fedora 8.
Failed to open/create the internal network 'HostInterfaceNetworking-eth0' (VERR_SUPDRV_INTERFACE_NOT_SUPPORTED).
Unknown error creating VM (VERR_SUPDRV_INTERFACE_NOT_SUPPORTED).

Details :
Result Code:
NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component: Console
Interface: IConsole {9511bc54-15ee-4ddf-808e-472aba03809c}

This error popup seems cryptic to me. Does anyone understand where the problem lies?

I enclose the result of /sbin/ifconfig on the host :
br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1C:C0:7C:9D:57
inet adr:192.168.10.60 Bcast:192.168.10.255 Masque:255.255.255.0
adr inet6: fe80::21c:c0ff:fe7c:9d57/64 Scope:Lien
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:363022 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:279106 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
RX bytes:328230289 (313.0 MiB) TX bytes:46380629 (44.2 MiB)

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1C:C0:7C:9D:57
inet adr:192.168.10.60 Bcast:192.168.10.255 Masque:255.255.255.0
adr inet6: fe80::21c:c0ff:fe7c:9d57/64 Scope:Lien
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:363049 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:279125 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
RX bytes:333348708 (317.9 MiB) TX bytes:46481241 (44.3 MiB)
Interruption:17 Adresse de base:0x4000

lo Link encap:Boucle locale
inet adr:127.0.0.1 Masque:255.0.0.0
adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hôte
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:9834 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9834 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
RX bytes:27773134 (26.4 MiB) TX bytes:27773134 (26.4 MiB)

Thanks,
Yuufo
Yuufo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15. Apr 2009, 11:41
Primary OS: Fedora other
VBox Version: OSE Fedora
Guest OSses: Fedora 8, Windows XP

Re: Why was "Host Interface" removed in 2.2?

Postby Frank Mehnert » 15. Apr 2009, 15:37

Yuufo wrote:Failed to start the virtual machine Fedora 8.
Failed to open/create the internal network 'HostInterfaceNetworking-eth0' (VERR_SUPDRV_INTERFACE_NOT_SUPPORTED).
Unknown error creating VM (VERR_SUPDRV_INTERFACE_NOT_SUPPORTED).
Yuufo


Hmm, that error message usually means that the vboxnetflt module was not properly loaded. Please can you do
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
lsmod|grep vbox

on the host?
Frank Mehnert
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2523
Joined: 7. Jun 2007, 09:11
Location: Dresden, Germany
Primary OS: Debian Lenny
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows

Re: Why was "Host Interface" removed in 2.2?

Postby Yuufo » 15. Apr 2009, 15:45

Thanks for your reply.
However I previously removed / reinstalled VirtualBox and my bug is no longer here...
Yuufo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15. Apr 2009, 11:41
Primary OS: Fedora other
VBox Version: OSE Fedora
Guest OSses: Fedora 8, Windows XP


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests