3D Acceleration Support

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby Roman1 » 7. Jul 2009, 08:45

Roman1 wrote:Disabling 3d support in the VMs config as workaround.


it looks like the problem is SMP; going back to a single CPU solves this (and many other) problems.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
> glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: Chromium
server glx version string: 1.2 Chromium
server glx extensions:                 
    GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig
client glx vendor string: Chromium                                     
client glx version string: 1.2 Chromium                               
client glx extensions:                                                 
    GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig
GLX version: 1.3
...

... well, almost:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
...
Segmentation fault


Roman
Roman1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 18. Dec 2008, 17:38

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby jrennell » 10. Jul 2009, 20:19

ajmas wrote:I had Direct 3D working for a while, but now my dxdiag tool is crashing. I had changed something, but I am not sure what, so I am not sure how to resolve the issue. What I have tried since include:
- resinstalled Direct X 9.0c
- reinstalled the new guest additions (first displacing d3d9.dll and d3d8.dll)

This does not seem to have resolved the issue. Does anyone have a list of direct-x related files they have installed in their Windows XP installation, if you have managed to get Direct 3D working with VirtualBox 3.0.


Make sure you reinstall the guest additions from within safe mode otherwise windows will automatically replace those d3d#.dll files with the originals.
jrennell
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 10. Jul 2009, 16:59
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows, BSD

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby stmok » 13. Jul 2009, 14:38

Just like to add...

Using Sempron 2800+ (Socket 754 version: 1.6Ghz overclocked 2.0Ghz), with GF7600GS and 1GB RAM.

VirtualBox version: 3.0.2 (PUEL)
Host OS: Ubuntu 8.04 LTS
Guest OS: Windows XP Pro SP3 (Current patches)

Games tested...

* Act of War: Direct Action
=> Installs fine. (Video prelude during install runs fine). Does NOT run. => Shows initial splash screen, but then returns back to desktop.

* Need For Speed: Underground
=> Installs fine. Does NOT run. => Shows initial splash screen, but then returns back to desktop.

* Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon
=> Installs fine. Does NOT run. => Shows initial splash screen, but then returns back to desktop.

* Tux Racer (Windows version)
=> Runs fine. As its an OpenGL application.

* Jedi Knight: Jedi OutCast
=> Installs fine. => You need to run it in "Safe Mode" (link is provided by default) because running it regular mode causes an error message to appear saying that you do not have a 3D accelerator.
=> In Safe Mode: it seems to run, as its an OpenGL application...But brightness is stuck at default though (safe mode thing?), and there are sometimes graphical glitches. I've had to switch all details on lowest and 640x480 resolution, because my hardware isn't all that fast.
=> Some video cinematics are a bit twitchy. (Audio and subtitles go out of sync in pre-rendered scenes, sound disappears in some video, etc).

Overall, so far so good. Will try again when the next major release of VirtualBox comes.

Good Work VB devs!
stmok
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 1. Jun 2007, 17:21
Primary OS: Ubuntu 8.04
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP Pro SP3, Debian, Fedora, and CentOS

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby bobdevis » 15. Jul 2009, 03:14

Host: Kubuntu 9.04 64bit
Guest: XP SP3 32bit
Hardware: First gen AMD Phenom Quad, Nvidia 8800GT, 4GB RAM
Tested game: Telltale's Tales of Monkey Island (DX9c)
VBox version: 3.0.2

It runs! The fps is unacceptably low and the rendering is incomplete (polygons missing) with all settings on minimal. There are also extra delays here and there. The game is however stable.
Keep up the good work.
bobdevis
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 24. Apr 2009, 00:06
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP, Ununtu

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby Gothicawakening » 16. Jul 2009, 05:44

Not sure if this belongs here on in a new thread... could a mod move it if it's in the wrong place please.

I was excited to see 3D support getting better and better, but sadly the one application I need it for is still unusable.

When I try and run it I get this error: (Warning); Graphics adapter "VirtualBox Graphics Adapter/\\.\DISPLAY1": no hardware rasterization support (Error)
Although the program still loads, one part of the window (the part where the 3D stuff is) never updates and only shows whatever is placed on top of it (for example if I move another window over it, an image of that windows will remain there).

I was wondering if this is a problem with my setup, or if that is a feature that is not available?

Host: Fedora Linux 11
Guest: Windows XP SP2
Software: GrandMA 3D (A production lighting pre-visualization program).
VBox: 3.0.2
Hardware: Intel Core2 Duo, Nvidia 9400M G
Gothicawakening
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 16. Jul 2009, 05:32
Primary OS: Fedora other
VBox Version: OSE Fedora
Guest OSses: WindowsXP, WindowsVista

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby bobdevis » 17. Jul 2009, 08:14

GrandMa's site states you need "Microsoft DirectX® version 7 or above".
If they are using DX7, it is NOT going to work with VBox in it's current state. The stuff that is working now is all DX8 or DX9. Only VMWare has somewhat working DX7 support, for now....
bobdevis
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 24. Apr 2009, 00:06
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP, Ununtu

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby Gothicawakening » 18. Jul 2009, 05:47

I'm running DX9, would it be worth down-grading to 8?

This is one of my only 'need to reboot into Windows' program left. I would LOVE to get this working!

Edit: Oops sorry, you said "they" not "you". So if they use DX7 specific stuff (even though it works with DX9) chances are I'm out of luck?
Gothicawakening
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 16. Jul 2009, 05:32
Primary OS: Fedora other
VBox Version: OSE Fedora
Guest OSses: WindowsXP, WindowsVista

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby McStarfighter » 19. Jul 2009, 02:49

BTW: Have you ever tried to use GrandMA in Wine?
McStarfighter
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 3. Nov 2007, 22:55

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby chatterbox21 » 27. Aug 2009, 10:44

Very helpful and informative thread. I tried it and it fixed most bugs and errors. Thanks!
chatterbox21
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 27. Aug 2009, 10:39
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Windows XP

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby chatterbox21 » 27. Aug 2009, 10:45

Gothicawakening wrote:I'm running DX9, would it be worth down-grading to 8?

This is one of my only 'need to reboot into Windows' program left. I would LOVE to get this working!

Edit: Oops sorry, you said "they" not "you". So if they use DX7 specific stuff (even though it works with DX9) chances are I'm out of luck?


When I upgraded mine to version 9 I started to encounter some graphics bugs. I dont know why...Would it be by compatibility?
chatterbox21
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 27. Aug 2009, 10:39
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Windows XP

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby Technologov » 27. Aug 2009, 10:58

>I'm running DX9, would it be worth down-grading to 8?

Downgrading to DX8 runtime won't help. This is because DX9 also supports DX8 instructions.

What is needed, is applications that use DX8. (or OpenGL)

You need to understand how "DirectX Runtime Library" works, before asking such questions.

-Technologov
Technologov
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3305
Joined: 10. May 2007, 16:59
Location: Israel

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby lonelymetal » 28. Aug 2009, 15:05

I use VirtualBox 3.0.4 on WinXP host running WinXP guest os and 3D acceleration on in headless mode. I would like to connect to my guest os via VRDP (or TurboVNC for better graphic result) and run 3D application (CATIA V5R19) in guest os.
As I run the program in guest os, "chromium render spu" window is appears with 3D graphic of program in Host os and nothing in guest os except program window. By turning off 3D acceleration the chromium render spu window is not appears but 3D graphic is very slow in guest os.
Anyone has any idea or solution?
lonelymetal
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 28. Aug 2009, 14:49
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: WinXP

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby Technologov » 6. Sep 2009, 11:06

3D Acceleration Support only works locally, not remotely.

I don't know any software to make it work remotely... maybe hardware IP KVM (keyboard-video-mouse) switch can help you.

-Technologov
Technologov
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3305
Joined: 10. May 2007, 16:59
Location: Israel

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby NarsiL » 2. Oct 2009, 05:24

Hello I am desperately trying to get Prince of Persia games working. They run strange(too fast or too slow sometimes both) on multi processors. I tried Virtualbox as you will guess but I get 'no hal driver found' and something about DirectX. I think game requires 9.0 at least. I guess it won't run on VirtualBox soon. Can I run it on VMWare or some other way? Any suggestion is appreciated.
NarsiL
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2. Oct 2009, 05:15
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows XP

Re: 3D Acceleration Support

Postby Technologov » 2. Oct 2009, 20:00

original Prince of Persia is a DOS game and should work best on DOSbox, but maybe it can run on VBox too...
Technologov
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3305
Joined: 10. May 2007, 16:59
Location: Israel

PreviousNext

Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests