Page 1 of 1

How to create a floppy image?

PostPosted: 29. Aug 2007, 22:35
by ABS3
Don't throw anything at me, but what can I create a floppy image with. I can't figure out what to do it with. :oops:

PostPosted: 30. Aug 2007, 01:47
by stefan.becker
Linux? => "man dd"

create floppy image

PostPosted: 30. Aug 2007, 12:17
by Ingo
Unix:
without reading man page:
dd if=/dev/fd0 of=floppy.img

Window$:
I think you can use rawrite but I'm not familiar with that.

PostPosted: 30. Aug 2007, 20:04
by ghr
Windows: Floopy (as long as it's a 1.44M floppy)

Re: How to create a floppy image?

PostPosted: 30. May 2011, 22:08
by mkulon
To create new floppy disk image on linux / ubuntu if your system does not have a floppy drive:

dd bs=512 count=2880 if=/dev/zero of=floppy.img

You will then need to mount it in virtual box and format it.

Re: How to create a floppy image?

PostPosted: 30. May 2011, 22:17
by mkulon
For those that do not have linux & cannot use my earlier command line, I am also attaching an image of a windows FAT formatted blank floppy

Re: How to create a floppy image?

PostPosted: 16. Dec 2013, 02:21
by Badplayer03
That's exactly what I was looking for, but Vbox still says that the disk is "Write-protected". How can I make this image writeable (i.e. non-write-protected)? What good is a blank disk you can't write on LOL? Was this .img file accidentally created from a write protected disk, or are all .img files write-protected by default, in which case, how can I undo this? Please help. I really need the ability to write files to virtual disk images to make Vbox work fully for my purposes. Its very frustrating have Vbox always say that my disk images are always write-protected, without giving me any instructions or options of how to undo this. Thanks a bunch

Re: How to create a floppy image?

PostPosted: 16. Dec 2013, 17:28
by ChipMcK
Badplayer03 wrote:How can I make this image writeable (i.e. non-write-protected)?
Set the permissions of the image file to read/write?

Re: How to create a floppy image?

PostPosted: 18. Dec 2013, 09:56
by Badplayer03
Simpler even, with Windows 7, was to right-click and run Virtual Box as "Administrator". As soon as I did that, I had all permissions, including writing capabilities, and this solved my problem completely. Darn Windows 7 default settings, and its nack for making me a "user" by default in my own computer. I'm sure there's a way to always be "administrator" by default, but I'm too lazy to learn how to do that at this point. :D

Re: How to create a floppy image?

PostPosted: 20. Dec 2013, 01:38
by socratis
Badplayer03 wrote:I'm sure there's a way to always be "administrator" by default

NO, don't do it. It was the biggest mistake that MS made when they decided to make everyone an administrator. I'm tired of supporting people that installed a program (virus) simply because they had the security credentials to do so.