updated VM VirtualBox now its looping back to enter password: after entering

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
Shez1

updated VM VirtualBox now its looping back to enter password: after entering

Post by Shez1 »

Hi,
I updated my Virtualbox to version 6.1.32, when I now try to enter my password the system changes to a black screen, then loops back around to ask me to enter my password again. When I enter the incorrect password, it tells me my password is incorrect. I then reverted to a previous version but still no success

I would be grateful for any help that you can offer, I only ask you one thing... please explain to me like I'm a 5 year old. I'm very new in this coding journey and will get lost in the jargon, I will get there with it one day, but today is not that day :cry:
Attachments
Xubuntu-2022-08-27-12-46-27.zip
(100.34 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: updated VM VirtualBox now its looping back to enter password: after entering

Post by scottgus1 »

The log shows the VM 'hardware' running correctly. The screen toggles back and forth between 800x600 and 1920x975 several times, but no indication that I can see why.

Ubuntu is known to go blackscreen if there is not enough free disk space to start the desktop environment. This Ubuntu glitch happens in real PCs too. The fact that you also upgraded Virtualbox around the same time may be only a coincidence.

You could try increasing the VM's video RAM slider to the max 128MB, see the VM's Display settings.

To solve the possible no-disk-space problem, log onto the VM OS text-only and delete stuff until the desktop environment can start. I regret that I don't know how to do this myself, so I can't explain it. Web-search how to fix this in an Ubuntu PC and apply the steps to the VM. Also see How to Resize a Drive
fth0
Volunteer
Primary OS: Mac OS X other