What to do after discovering that snapshots are a bad idea

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
EliteHuskarl

What to do after discovering that snapshots are a bad idea

Post by EliteHuskarl »

I'm relatively new to VB and VMs in general and have been recently given network admin duties for the small company I work for. I have relatively little formal IT background or training but I'm usually a pretty quick study.

Our data and email servers are running Windows Server 2019 as guests on a Mint host using VBox (6.1.16). One of my first major tasks is to get a good backup system running. Following the VBox instructions I started taking snapshots as a first step until we could get to the point where we could take the VWs offline for cloning and regular backing up.

That was before I read on this forum about the ins and outs of how snapshots work and why they are a bad idea, not a true backup solution, and can make the VM more prone to failure. Needless to say I am concerned at the risk this poses to business critical servers. First priority of course is finding a good time to take the VMs offline and backing them up. Beyond that, is there a way to "undo" snapshots and have the VM run once again just off the base VDI? Screenshot below, apologies to all the site mods who have been patiently explaining the flaws of snapshotting for years, and as this is my first post please let me know if I've failed to observe a posting guideline. :oops:
Attachments
VBox snapshot screenshot.png
VBox snapshot screenshot.png (76.13 KiB) Viewed 5980 times
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: What to do after discovering that snapshots are a bad idea

Post by mpack »