Can I use a video file as camera input?

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
Alexybubble

Can I use a video file as camera input?

Post by Alexybubble »

I know that this is a bit niche, but I'm a college student, and one of my classes requires that I use a browser extension that, among other things, requires an active microphone and camera. I'm trying to run the extension on a VM, to get around its sketchy privileges, but I need a way to have VB set up so that it recognizes a video file as the active camera and mic input without using any additional software within the VM, but I couldn't find any answers on how to do this, so does anyone here have any ideas?
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Can I use a video file as camera input?

Post by mpack »

The only "virtual camera" provided by VirtualBox is a webcam passthrough (if the extension pack is installed). So AFAIK, no, you can't treat a video file as a camera using features built into VirtualBox.

Why not just get yourself a webcam with microphone? You can point the camera at a poster or something, and you can presumably unplug it when it isn't needed.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Post by scottgus1 »

FWIW there are some 3rd-party apps that can simulate a video camera for other apps to use. My web-searches says OBS Studio can do it, and there may be others. Whether these apps can be used by Virtualbox as a video camera is another matter...
Alexybubble

Post by Alexybubble »

mpack wrote:The only "virtual camera" provided by VirtualBox is a webcam passthrough (if the extension pack is installed). So AFAIK, no, you can't treat a video file as a camera using features built into VirtualBox.

Why not just get yourself a webcam with microphone? You can point the camera at a poster or something, and you can presumably unplug it when it isn't needed.