Internet Connection causes pings to fail

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
CBCH

Internet Connection causes pings to fail

Post by CBCH »

Hi guys, this is my first time posting on this awesome forum, but it is unfortunately a question that has been bugging me for days.

I have an Ubuntu 20.04.1 machine which consists of 2 adapters.

Code: Select all

enp0s3: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.96  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::c87c:ea4b:8946:7b9a  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 08:00:27:bd:8b:9f  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 989  bytes 924978 (924.9 KB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 37  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 373  bytes 49368 (49.3 KB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enp0s8: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 10.0.0.69  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 10.0.0.255
        inet6 fe80::90e5:3014:8b6a:a8ee  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 08:00:27:d9:20:98  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 38  bytes 3604 (3.6 KB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 103  bytes 9660 (9.6 KB)
I also have a Kali 2021.1-amd64 machine which is using the Internal Network adapter (external).

Code: Select all

eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 1.1.1.2  netmask 255.255.255.252  broadcast 1.1.1.3
        inet6 fe80::a00:27ff:fea6:1f86  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 08:00:27:a6:1f:86  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 3  bytes 256 (256.0 B)
        TX packets 19  bytes 1542 (1.5 KiB)

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 8  bytes 400 (400.0 B)