How to setup a virtualnetwork in Virtualbox

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
edufissure

How to setup a virtualnetwork in Virtualbox

Post by edufissure »

Im a teacher and every student has a computer with Ubuntu( as host machine), as they boot the computer the router of the institute gives the computer a dynamic ip. Also we have a proxy.

This computers have virtualbox 6.1.16 and we work with virtual machines. We usually work in bridged mode, and we have to setup the proxy in the guest machine.

So i need advice,if its possible to make this:
  • - I need to make a DNS server in Ubuntu ( no matters version 18.04 or 20.04 prefer one)to practice. It would be a guest in virtualbox of the students pc. lets name it ubuntudns.
  • - I also need that this ubuntudns would have a static ip, because id have to use client dns to connect to it. So bridge mode doesnt work as it takes a dynamic ip every time we reboot the vm.
  • - I would need an client dns, another VM in the same network of ubuntudns ( obvious), it would ask for "resolver dns querys" to ubuntudns.
  • - Would be nice but not mandatory ubuntudns can go outside with internet
I have tried to put two adapters to ubuntudns one nat and other host-only. And then clientdns also host only..

But it doesnt work....

I also would like to know if its necessary/recommended to create a virtual network ( like vboxnet) in virtualbox, and if can have any ip range or it has it limited by the institute network.

Any ideas about how to setup if possible ? Specially ubuntudns

Thanks
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: How to setup a virtualnetwork in Virtualbox

Post by scottgus1 »

See Virtualbox Networks: In Pictures.