[Solved] Set keyboard layout BEFORE starting VM

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
jlgarnier

[Solved] Set keyboard layout BEFORE starting VM

Post by jlgarnier »

Hi Community,

I'm new to Virtualbox and stumbled rapidly on my first issue. The app is running on my Win10 machine, which has a French keyboard layout. I've created my first VM (Kali Linux) and started it, reached the login prompt and found out that the keyboard layout used by the VM is English. Obviously difficult to enter any password with the wrong layout...

My question is: is there any way to set the keyboard layout up before starting the VM, so I can use my French keyboard with confidence? I mean: select layout=FR as the VM default config, not in the guest OS once it's started... I haven't find any setting for this nor in the forum posts.

Thanks in advance for any help!
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Set keyboard layout BEFORE starting VM

Post by scottgus1 »

jlgarnier wrote:is there any way to set the keyboard layout up before starting the VM
No, Virtualbox doesn't have control over the keyboard layout, it only passes key codes, which are the same regardless of chosen layout.

The keyboard layout is controlled by the OS installed in the VM. Most modern OS's have a page during installation where the keyboard layout can be picked for that OS.
jlgarnier

Re: Set keyboard layout BEFORE starting VM

Post by jlgarnier »

Thanks for the quick answer@scottgus1! I'm then left with running the VM for the first time once with a weird layout then change the locale to get my French layout back...
fth0
Volunteer
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...

Re: [Solved] Set keyboard layout BEFORE starting VM

Post by fth0 »

Just in case you don't know: The default kali password could be kqli in your case. ;)
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux