VB understates cpu core count

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
hohon

VB understates cpu core count

Post by hohon »

I lost the count of how many times I created bug reports for this same issue that keeps creeping in with every new version, every different CPU.
It goes back almost a decade, and every time we hear the same excuses from the devs, and they escalate into accusations of users being liars. Yes, I heard all kinds of insults for saying that VB incorrectly understates the CPU count.

Today I replaced A6-3670 with 4x cores in my system for A5-5400K with 2x cores. VB incorrectly detects A6-5400K as a single-core CPU.
My own software has no issues detecting the CPU count under any OS imaginable. I do it for a living, and my software runs on Linux, FreeBSD, Solaris, Windows, and some other OSs. It is a system call, for crying out loud, but VB has its own opinion and it is always different.

Can you just get it right, once in a lifetime, and correctly detect AMD-V and core count? I am so sick of this. Needless to say, VMWare player detects it correctly. Boo-hoo!
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: VB understates cpu core count

Post by scottgus1 »

I have not run into this issue on any of my hosts, mostly Intel, also a couple AMD, in the 12 years that I have run Virtualbox. I did run across a poster within the last month that had an AMD that was being mis-reported in Virtualbox, and needed drivers from AMD for the host OS. Once those drivers were installed, the CPU count was properly reported.

AMD-V can be 'mis-reported' if it's a Windows 10/2019 host and Hyper-V is enabled, or some other AMD-V user has grabbed it first.

Please check with your CPU's provider for any chipset or CPU drivers needed, then try any VM, even with no OS installed, and post a zipped vbox.log using the forum's Upload Attachment tab.