How to configure dns with internet in virtualbox?

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

How to configure dns with internet in virtualbox?

Postby udaykiran2021 » 19. Oct 2021, 08:53

For a lab setup, I have created two vms in virtualbox(server 2019) Both are server 2019 datacenter. Both are connected to NAT and Hostonly adapters first machine, I have setup Domain controller and DNS linked to hostonly adapter. The same IP I kept in the 2nd machine as DNS server in the hostonly adapter. If I kept the NAT network as is, the dns routing is going to 8.8.8.8 and can't join to domain the second machine. So, I changed that to first machine hostonly network IP for the dns setting of 2nd machine nat network adapter. Then, I am able to join domain.But the result, I can't access internet from here in 2nd machine.

Also, can we keep the dns setting in the virtualbox configuration itself, instead of editing inside VM?

Please suggest.
udaykiran2021
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 19. Oct 2021, 08:53

Re: How to configure dns with internet in virtualbox?

Postby mpack » 19. Oct 2021, 10:45

Having both NAT and "host only" gives you two separate networks, each with their own IP address, DHCP (if provided) and DNS (if provided).

Are you assuming that connecting both networks to one PC turns it into one network? It doesn't btw. You would need to add your own routing software to connect the two networks.

ISTM you want to set up your own single isolated network which has DHCP and primary DNS inside that network, using the host (or host's router) as a gateway. I don't see a reliable way to include the host while you are (I'm guessing) reluctant to disconnect it from the physical network.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34922
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: How to configure dns with internet in virtualbox?

Postby scottgus1 » 19. Oct 2021, 16:51

Please review Virtualbox Networks: In Pictures so you can see how the Virtualbox networks work.

Then describe what you're trying to do in general terms, like "I want a server VM running its own domain and DNS, and a client VM that uses the server VM's DNS & DHCP to access the internet. I do/don't want the host involved in the domain". We may then be able to show what network types ad connections to use.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13799
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: operation420.net and 15 guests