Host Audio Controller menu: changes to a running machine

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Host Audio Controller menu: changes to a running machine

Postby grahamperrin » 23. Jul 2021, 04:15

Whilst a guest machine runs: it's impossible to use the menu (impossible to change the driver). This seems logical.

The menu can be used with the saved state of a running guest. Is this a bug?
grahamperrin
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 27. Apr 2008, 15:19

Re: Host Audio Controller menu: changes to a running machine

Postby fth0 » 23. Jul 2021, 20:55

No, it's intentional behavior (since VirtualBox 5.0.0). Did you encounter any problem?
fth0
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2380
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Location: Germany
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...

Host Audio Controller menu: changes to the saved state of a running machine

Postby grahamperrin » 24. Jul 2021, 20:20

Thanks,

fth0 wrote:… Did you encounter any problem?


Cool! A useful feature.

No problem. With the audio controller set to ICH AC97 I began listening to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8g18jFHCLXk then closed the guest, saved its state.

Switched the host audio driver from OSS to null, disabled output, started the guest, resumed playback, silence, closed the guest, saved its state.

Re-enabled output, switched from null to OSS, started the guest, resumed playback, sound is audible.

----

… (off topic) … silence with audio enabled. … Note to self: https://www.freshports.org/www/firefox/#message media.cubeb.backend oss
grahamperrin
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 27. Apr 2008, 15:19


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests