How do I add an exisiting XP partition into my Virtual Box?

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
VirtuaLee

How do I add an exisiting XP partition into my Virtual Box?

Post by VirtuaLee »

I have used Virtual PC and VMWare, but am clueless how to make this work in Virtual Box.

I have XP installed on my C: partition (XP#1) and also on my E: Partition (XP#2). The configurations are slightly different.

I want to run Virtual Box on C:. Within Virtual Box I want to run XP#2, or a copy of it. Thats it.

I created a VMDK file using VMConverter but was unable to make it bootable because it would have meant including the huge C: partition (with the boot files on it).

1) How do I create a bootable VMDK or disk image VirtualBox will recognize and boot, from my E: partition? I have read the manual but don't understand how to do this.

I am not a PC programmer.

Thank you!
Sasquatch
Volunteer
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Post by Sasquatch »

If you use a clone or RAW Disk Access to boot the other XP, you also need a proper MBR. There is a way to create one and add it to your VM. See the Tutorial: All about VDIs for how to do this properly. You can even use the Windows XP install disk and run a recovery of your install and install the MBR on it using fixboot.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
VirtuaLee

Post by VirtuaLee »

Sasquatch: