Partitioning for VirtualBox.

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
gencon
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win XP

Partitioning for VirtualBox.

Post by gencon »

Hi,

I'm going to install VirtualBox on an Ubuntu (Lucid) PC and then install Windows XP as a guest OS. Note: I will be a first time user never having installed VirtualBox or similar before, though I've used several Linux distributions so I'm no Linux newbie.

As it happens I am going to do a clean Ubuntu installation and so am in a position to create partitions especially for VirtualBox or size standard partitions appropriately for it.

My usual Linux partition sizes are basic and as follows:

/ 25 GB (root)
Swap 4 GB
/home - whatever is left (leaving 15 GB un-partitioned space free for emergencies).

Is it possible, advisable, or even desirable to create a specific partition for VirtualBox to use for it's guest OS storage? If so what size do you recommend? I shall be installing just Win XP, say 10 GB for the OS, with space of 15 GB for installed software, plus 5 GB to make sure I can't run out of space - totalling 30 GB. Does that sound about right? I have plenty of disk space and this would still leave me with 300 GB for /home, not to mention a 2nd hard disk inside the PC so I'm not at all worried if I'm over estimating by 10-15 GB.

If creating a partition for VirtualBox would I use /var for it? I've No prior experience of using a partition for /var though I know it's often used for MySQL and email data, etc., so it would seem a logical place for guest OS storage, or am I wrong about that?

If you think I should not go down this route where does VirtualBox store its data, in root? In which case should I double my usual root size to, say, 50 or even 60 GB?

Any advise on this would be appreciated. Many thanks and regards,

gencon
Sasquatch
Volunteer
Primary OS: Debian other
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: Partitioning for VirtualBox.