Question to the Guru's, vt-x or not, thats the question

Discussions about using non Windows and Linux guests such as FreeBSD, DOS, OS/2, OpenBSD, etc.
FrodoHobbits
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, QNX & Linux

Question to the Guru's, vt-x or not, thats the question

Post by FrodoHobbits »

Since upgrading to 2.2.4, even though I have had no problems as such and this being my first forum post (I don't want to appear as a total newby).
I'm running an image of a very old version of QNX (4.25 to be precise), all was fine in previous versions of VBox but now when I run this image I get an error box stating that VT-x/AMD-V hardware has been enabled but not operational and to ensure that I have enabled it properly in the BIOS.
If I click continue all seems fine.
This had me thinking and so I ran one of my XP images and looked at the Session Information/Runtime and it states that VT-x/AMD-V is disabled even though it is enabled in the settings section.
I have been through my PC's BIOS and can't find any reference to VT-x (my PC being an Intel 2.8 Hyper-threading thingy)
I'm just after a little guidance and sorry to be of bother.
vbox4me2
Volunteer

Re: Question to the Guru's, vt-x or not, thats the question

Post by vbox4me2 »

This whole vt-x amd-v thing it getting not so funny anymore, I will change the topic line and add the following:
Under previous versions you will find in the machine logfile(.VirtualBox\Machines\VM\Logs\VBox.log) the following entries:

-> 00:00:00.233 Package type: WINDOWS_64BITS_GENERIC

Indicates the 64bit version of VBox is installed.

-> 00:00:02.388 Mnemonic - Description = guest (host)
-> 00:00:02.388 VMX - Virtual Machine Technology = 0 (1)
-> 00:00:01.027 HWACCM: VMX enabled!

I consider these entries (host section set to 1) as vt-x/amd-v being active for VBox. (in above example a w2k server is running with vt-x enabled and active but the Guest is 32bit.)