Win98SE intall halts: Needs at least 16MB of memory

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
FlailingUser
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Win98SE

Win98SE intall halts: Needs at least 16MB of memory

Post by FlailingUser »

Hello All:
Complete newbie here needs a bit of advice. First, I installed FreeDOS and then followed the instructions here http://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=9918 to copy the install cd for win98se onto my virtual hard disk. Next I ran the command setup /p j. Everything seemed to be progressing nicely but then I got a dialog box saying "Stop Windows 98 requires a computer with at least 16MB of memory". I currently have the guest configured for 128MB so I'm not sure what the problem might be. Anyone have a suggestion?
Thanks in advance,
Jim
fixedwheel
Volunteer

Re: Win98SE intall halts: Needs at least 16MB of memory

Post by fixedwheel »

FlailingUser wrote:dialog box saying "Stop Windows 98 requires a computer with at least 16MB of memory". I currently have the guest configured for 128MB
128MB was more than imaginable in those days, i guess it can't count up to that value ... give 32MB
FlailingUser

Post by FlailingUser »

Thanks for the suggestion. Just tried it at 32MB and got the same issue. Any other ideas?
Cheers,
Jim
Perryg
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Post by Perryg »

If memory serves me the error "Stop Windows 98 requires a computer with at least 16MB of memory" was somewhat misleading way back when. I think it had more to do with the way the partition and format was done. Even way back then MS looked at the MBR to see what was going on and certain hardware checks. Try typing setup /? to see what the parameters were and use the switch that ignores the check. See if that gets you farther.
FlailingUser

Post by FlailingUser »