Cannot use ISO image with VirtualBox 3.1.0

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
SSCBrian
Volunteer
Posts: 365
Joined: 13. Jun 2008, 15:04
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 8 RTM (MSDN)

Re: Cannot use ISO image with VirtualBox 3.1.0

Post by SSCBrian »

What does everyone use to put together Solaris/Linux distro .ISOs? I haven't yet found an ISO online that I couldn't read. I've not tried to make my own though.
Stan
Posts: 1
Joined: 10. Apr 2010, 02:03
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: 5

Re: Cannot use ISO image with VirtualBox 3.1.0

Post by Stan »

I'm getting this same image err when trying to install a Win7 image.
The ISO has a readme with:
This disc contains a "UDF" file system and requires an operating system
that supports the ISO-13346 "UDF" file system specification.

I'm not able to mount the iso image, but I does boot when I run the CD that I made from the ISO. That is, I can start the install, until I get a CD/DVD driver error. Apparently the Win7 install gets confused when looking for a driver for the device that it is running from.

I'm pretty sure I burned the CD w/ Nero.
The Win7 came from uSoft, as a exe download. The ISO was generated as a result of running the exe file.

Does this sound familure to anyone? (I'm out of idea's.)
BitBasher
Posts: 13
Joined: 25. Feb 2008, 10:51

Re: Cannot use ISO image with VirtualBox 3.1.0

Post by BitBasher »

I had this problem too with a "valid" ISO image.

The problem seemed to be nero-related. My ISO file had an additional 168 bytes of "header" (footer?) data at the very end of the file. I used HxD (hex editor) to remove the last 168 bytes of the file, then the file size was evenly divisible by 2048 and VB accepted the truncated ISO and it worked.

Note that I did NOT remove any ISO data, the 168 bytes of data at the end of the file was ADDED extra data.

I think the key (at least for me) is to make sure that the file size (in bytes) is evenly divisible by 2048.

-Bit.
Manjo
Posts: 1
Joined: 17. Aug 2010, 14:55
Primary OS: Other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: other

Re: Cannot use ISO image with VirtualBox 3.1.0

Post by Manjo »

Hello!

Here is a solution for Mac OsX Snow Leopard 10.6.4!

- insert CD
- open OsXs Disk Utility
- select the CD image (not the cd drive OPTIARC…)
- click "new disk image" in toolbar
- select image format: DVD/CD master, no encryption

Then a .cdr-File is generated. Rename .cdr into .iso. If you choose another image format, the disk utility will add some additional information at the end of the image. It looks like, VirtualBox does not like this.

Tested with VirtualBox 3.2.8 r64453
twistedlincoln
Posts: 86
Joined: 17. Dec 2008, 17:08
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: Nexradix
Contact:

Re: Cannot use ISO image with VirtualBox 3.1.0

Post by twistedlincoln »

For those who have multiple ISO's that were created non-spec (ie not divisable by 512) that refuse to work becasue of this error, there is a workaround, provided you are willing to use the OSE version and recompile from source.

Simply open "src/VBox/Devices/Storage/RawHDDCore.cpp" and comment out lines 289 -293 and recompile.

Those lines read:

Code: Select all

if (pImage->cbSize % 512) 
     { 
         rc = VERR_VD_RAW_INVALID_HEADER; 
         goto out; 
     } 
All commenting out this code does is stop the check to make sure the ISO size is devisable by 512, so if your ISO is legitimately corrupted, this won't help you. But it will allow you to use non-standard ISOs that are otherwise functional.
paul.oprea
Posts: 2
Joined: 14. Sep 2010, 17:54
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: Cannot use ISO image with VirtualBox 3.1.0

Post by paul.oprea »

There's a workaround for not having to recompile the whole stuff: right padding the iso file with zeroed bytes to the nearest 512 multiple :D :
  • Get the file size (f.e. 2204136233)
  • Find the nearest 512 multiple greater than the actual filesize (2204136448); find the difference from the actual filesize to this nearest multiple (215)
  • Create an empty file having that size;
  • Concatenate it at the end of the iso;
Voilà!

Code: Select all

ls -la myfile.iso
dd if=/dev/zero of=padding.bin bs=1 count=215
cat padding.bin >> myfile.iso
Disclaimer :shock: you may want to backup your .iso file before...

Homework
Do this on a single Linux command
paul.oprea
Posts: 2
Joined: 14. Sep 2010, 17:54
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: Cannot use ISO image with VirtualBox 3.1.0

Post by paul.oprea »

The above ideas are valid. However I was trying to apply a valid fix to the wrong problem.
The .ISO file itself was corrupted. So I had to re-download and check the SHA1/MD5
Better check for that upfront...
Geekum
Posts: 1
Joined: 11. Jan 2011, 17:39
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Fedora

Re: Cannot use ISO image with VirtualBox 3.1.0

Post by Geekum »

I've the exact same problem trying to load the official Fedora Live CD. The image opens in QEMU. I've attached a screenshot of the error. I'm using VirtualBox OSE 3.2.12 on a Debian Sid Host.
Attachments
Screenshot-VirtualBox - Error.png
Screenshot-VirtualBox - Error.png (24.9 KiB) Viewed 8483 times
Sasquatch
Volunteer
Posts: 17798
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux
Location: /dev/random

Re: Cannot use ISO image with VirtualBox 3.1.0

Post by Sasquatch »

And does the file checksum correspond with the one on the Fedora download page?
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Post Reply